December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Extreme Curling

by Enneract - Jam Entry

Can you beat my high score of 905.6 meters? If you can you should totally post a screen shot.

This game *should* run on any android devices with 4.0 and above and that have OpenGL ES 2.0 support.

The game is available both on the Google play store (although it won't be available until a few hours after submission since it takes some time on Google's part). To install from the .apk file you need to make sure you that you have the unknown sources option enabled in Settings -> Security.

So my game got a little detracted from the theme, I was originally going for the idea of having only one bullet and you controlled it to hit the target. But I decided I needed more lulz, so somehow I ended with Extreme Curling where you only get one curling stone and have to control it.

WARNING: This is nothing remotely like curling.

Use you finger to control the curling stone to dodge the on coming blocks, and try to travel as far as you can to get a high score.
Speed boosters can be found in three variations:
-Green: weak
-Yellow: medium
-Red: strong
They will temporarily increase your speed while also giving you additional bonus distance.

Power ups are also found through out the course. You can only have one power up active at a time (so I guess that's some what relevant to the theme).
Power up types are:
-Double Distance: every meter traveled is worth two
-Black Out: every meter traveled is worth four, but you must do so in near darkness.
-Time Slow: slow time
-Shield: a bubble shield to protected you
-Broom of Death: a broom to sweep some blocks out of the way.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#136Audio(Jam)3.32
#170Humor(Jam)2.79
#196Fun(Jam)3.07
#249Overall(Jam)3.13
#323Innovation(Jam)2.70
#361Graphics(Jam)2.87
#420Mood(Jam)2.44
#456Theme(Jam)2.20

Comments

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

The Play Store link doesn't work for me.

Enneract says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43am

@mtinkerhess
It's still be processed by Google, just give it another hour or two and it should work.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53am

Awesome I'll check back later!

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36am

Ha ha. Hilarious description in the play store. I approve of your humor. Unfortunately, the game crashes as soon as I open it on my Galaxy Nexus. Let me know if there's some trick to getting it to work, or if an updated version is pending in the play store, and I'll come back to play it. : )

Enneract says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45am

@code-11 it should run fine :( compatibility for android is such a pain. Does it give you the option to submit a bug report? That will send me a stack trace so I can see where it's crashing.

NickZangus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51am

Good job! It would have been nice to control the stone with the accelerometer, and maybe pick up power ups and use them whenever you want (keeping in memory only the last).

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03am

Won't run on my Nexus 7 with android 4.4..:C

romandtom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09am

Nice work!
The gameplay concept is quite cool and fun!

Enneract says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10am

@KumoKairo OpenGL seems to report a syntax error while compiling the shaders on some devices. I working on trying to fix this.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54am

That was great!
I really liked the broom of death. Curling should be that way!
And the music was great as well, did you make that too?

Enneract says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:08pm

@goerp Thanks :) Yup music is original, although unlike past Ludum Dares I didn't write it within the competition. I would have liked to but didn't have enough time so I just chose an older song of mine.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31pm

really good engine, great looking graphics, dulls out a bit but otherwise great game

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Ran smoothly on a Nexus 4. Yep, this could be addictive. Great plot screen, espcially when paired with screeching guitars. Hit detection is hard but fair, powerups are interesting (make sure you play until you get a broom), and controls feed responsive. Solid game!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:50am

Pretty solid. Ran well on a Galaxy S3 except for the graphics; I had a lot of flickering triangles. Quite fun regardless!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:09am

Crashes on my htc 1x :(

GagaPete says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22am

Great job. A fun game, it would be nice if there would be leaderboards or other ways to challenge a friend. I'll keep it on my device until I run out of storage space again. ^^

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:38am

@kirbytails7 hmm triangles is a new one, especially strange since when I wrote this I was testing on a S3 :S

@biscuitdough I'm guessing it's the same bug other people have been getting. I've just found a friend that has a phone that it crashes on which means I can test it and fix the bug now :) so hopefully it will be working in a couple of days.

@GagaPete yeah I would have loved to put leaderboards in it. I plan on polishing the game up and adding a view features like leader boards and in-game money/store. But wont be able to update the store link until after the judging is over, so keep an eye on it :)

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:56am

Nice game. Didn't really like the controls, though.

Zambini says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:35am

Probably the sickest soundtrack of any LD game! Really kicks the curling up to the next level broomaneuver.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:38am

It doesn't work on my smartphone :(

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:53am

Nice game, but maybe the controls needed some improvement.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:53am

It run flawlessly on my Nexus 4 (just for the record). I liked the new concept of "infinite curling" :)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Doesn't work on xperia play.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43pm

can not play it because I have no Touch Handy (only a ugly Nokia :D) But I can rate the sound. What will ich give? (Big Metal-Fan and Electro) Hmm ^^ <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:58pm

This looks great! Too bad I don't have an Android. I would play it other wise.

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:44am

We saw a texture or shading issue when playing it on an HTC ONE X.

http://i.imgur.com/x60amfh.png

Other than that, everything seemed to run smoothly.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:58am

I also saw the flickering triangle bug on my Galaxy S II. Fun game otherwise!

Enneract says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:00am

@PlayHabit Oh wow, that's quite something. Thanks for posting the screenshot though. A bit hard for me to fix though since I don't have a device that it does that on it.

Enneract says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:01am

For those people who were experiencing the bug that caused it to crash at start up, it should now be fixed :D if it's still crashing just submit a bug report.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Nice an android game ! Thank you :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]