December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Da' Face

by Snail_Man - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's an "Art" game! Don't let the menu deceive you- this is a beautiful look at the troubled human mind! Features organ music! Connection to the theme is a bit difficult to find, but it's there.

(Made in around 3 hours)

(You can also download the source if you enjoy horrible messy code)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#169Mood3.33
#219Humor3.00
#226Audio3.05
#264Innovation3.26
#542Graphics2.85
#622Overall2.85
#739Fun2.50
#909Theme2.00

Comments

mrjordan says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:38am

Haha, trippy!

607 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Woah, that really scared the crap out of meO_O I also have a problem with blood in games, so for me...

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Well... I've learnt something about myself today. I'm not sure what I've learnt, but I've definitely learnt it.

ming_tea says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:54pm

There isn't enough alcohol in the world to forget the things I've seen.

This was pretty awesome.

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48am

This is sick! Only thing missing is voice acting for the head with some hella creepy sound filter

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

I guess you'll have to wait for "Da' Face II: Faces" for that :P

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

Well that was disturbing...great job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Not sure if broken or intentionally broken. I am better for this experience.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

Terrifying. Haha

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

Face-rific. I love it; I'm a sucker for organ music.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25am

Awh, I'd love to play, but I'm on a mac : / any chance of a port?

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52am

..Am I going to die in 7 days? That was certainly an interesting experience though. Awesome!

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54am

This is why we can't have nice things.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08am

This was strange as o.o

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54am

My screen was never cleared, resulting in some pretty zany graphics, but I take it that was by design :)

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I was expecting the game to be about make-up. How wrong I was...

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36pm

I'm confused but I like it ha

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38pm

So I take it you like to not draw the background colour eh? Game was trippy as hell, no idea what anything was. But easy to get into. When the screen started to shake that threw me off a lot and I made the face sleepy again oh no

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14pm

The whole thing was jarring, uncomfortable, garish, creepy and nauseating.

Fantastic job!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Pretty artsy :D not sure if a win/lose condition exist though?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

That was... uh... different. Holy crap what just happened. My poor mind.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47am

Wow this is nothing short of fantastic, seriously. Beautiful art, love the sprite "trail" effect. It gave the impression of a canvas being filled. The music was awesome, glad to see other developers comfortable with doing weird stuff ;)!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I love this kind of game, I never score it 5 stars, but I do love it.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Hehe that was weird lol :P Trippy game ;)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12pm

For some reason reminded me of Revenge of The Sunfish. Almost as awesome but not quite. Mind you, you made this in 48 hours so pretty cool!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:59pm

This was weird...

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Ogod, what have I done to deserve this! I mean I appreciate what you've done, but... I'm still a bit creeped out.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:16am

I have no idea what just happened.

So...I think you succeeded?

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Scary as ****. But pretty awesome game:)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Alright, I'm having nightmares for a week now.

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Interesting! The theme is clear enough : you only get one face :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]