December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Seed

by recursor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Three weeks after the passing of your grandfather you receive a package in the mail.
Wondering what it could be, you hurry into your office and grab the box cutter.
The box flaps give way and out comes a dirt-filled pot, a letter, and a strange looking
seed protected in a plastic box. You open the letter and read it:

Dear grandson,
As you know my affinity for all things botanical has lead me to many parts of the world.
Just before I became ill, I took a trip to India where I tracked down a man known
in the botanical world for having many fine seed specimens. He and I had dealings before and
he owed me a big favor for saving his life during the Indian creamsicle tramplings. I wanted
to do something for you to both encourage your interest in botany and perhaps better your future.
The seed enclosed with this package is very special. It is rare. So rare, in fact that there is
no other like it on all the Earth. It's properties and age are unknown, but my friend speculates
that it could have been around during the creation of the world. If you are able to make it
produce berries or fruit or whatever it has then it is quite possible you will posess something
that no one else has. Depending on the properties of the product of this seed, it could make
you very rich. I've enclosed a special pot for you to use should you try to grow
it. Remember, every plant needs at least 3 things to survive: water, light, and food. Depending on
how much you give or withold these three things during its growth it could very well
affect what it produces.
Love,
Grandpa


Instructions:

Ensure that the plant has enough of each of the 3 elements it needs to grow.
Note the 3 bars in the upper right corner. Each is divided into 3 zones that represents how long the plant has been lacking (below the left-most vertical bar), adequate (between the 2 vertical bars), or lavished (to the right of the vertical bar) in the particular element. Play around with getting the bars in different zone combinations to see what kind of berries you can produce! There are two stories behind each berry that you find.

Note:
There are 15 different kinds of berries and each can be identified by its shape and color.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#112Innovation3.60
#164Humor3.17
#326Mood3.00
#336Theme3.17
#523Audio2.45
#549Fun2.79
#570Overall2.93
#611Graphics2.71

Comments

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Pretty cool game. Fits the theme and is fun to play. Everything seems to work well.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

Having to balance between the three variables is a nice unique idea. I did manage to grow some berries on my second try.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Very entertaining!

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52am

Interesting idea. Fits the topic really well, as well as being entertaining.

minibutmany says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54am

I like this game! Really funny!

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03am

Great concept. I loved to retry, but I found too often nothing :(

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40am

@Masadow: Yeah. There are 26 possible Plant health combinations and I only had time to get 15 berries in the game (that is 30 different stories - 2 for each berry). That means that a bit over 50% of the time you will grow a berry. Not too bad, but I'd rather have it around 60% or so and make it possible to kill the plant. As always, I had other ideas to implement but ran out of time.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:27am

Actually there are 27 possible plant health combinations :P

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

The cat peed on the plant, I got sent to jail, the neighbor is poisoned - next time I'll just use some roundup and kill this weed! Very good use of the theme, and I love the intro music (should have it play during the game too!)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Quite fun. Cool concept and funny stories.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Cool game! I laughed with some berry results like the gatorade one :P
Great job :)

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it! :D

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:15am

Very fun game!! Nice job with that seed ;)

Oli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:21pm

haha fun story and cool concept :)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Fun game.
I managed to grow berries having the watter always on (100% water). Shouldn't the plant rot?

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:20pm

@xrm0: A regular plant would, but this is not a regular plant.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Interesting take on the theme and a nice story to go with it. Well done!

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:30am

Neat concept, because I felt like I was playing for the chance to read the stories more than anything else. I wasn't exactly clear how the quantities matched up to the health meter, but I found around 4-5 different berries.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:35pm

The premise is quite similar to our game, but it would seem that our executions differ a lot from each other :P.

I think the text-to-gameplay -ratio could've been a bit better. I think I managed to get the same exact stories as vinull.

pkenney says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:20am

Cool stories! I never wanted to send it to the lab.

michail says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Very interesting idea. It takes some time to get the rules, but some of the endings are really funny. My favorite one is working as a statue in a museum ;)

Sebastian says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

I cured alzheimer's :)
Pretty fun little game!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Nice simple idea, quite unique. Rated highly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]