December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Poncho Duelers

by midgard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi there!

This is like my 5 or 6 time on the Ludum Dare, I always tend to make things funny, but yeah it's hard in 48h :P

Anyways, I'll update the game later tomorrow to fix some bugs, and maybe add something minimal that I wanted to add but I didn't had time.

This game is basically a Duel thingie with just one bullet for each round. Difficulty progresses as the round increases, and there's a Leaderboards to make that nice!

Show your skill with the mouse right nao!

PS: I'll update this when I have a little more time!
PS2: I also tryied some Networking, it doesnt really seem to work so I'll have to fix that tomorrow! Good night :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Humor3.05
#283Theme3.26
#323Graphics3.26
#523Audio2.45
#523Mood2.71
#613Fun2.70
#690Overall2.78
#808Innovation2.39
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53pm

not a great test of reflex when you know EXACTLY when the time to shoot will come.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

oh god, the screaming. rofl. nicely done.

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

We both missed each other, then they just stood there...

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Haha.. The screaming was a little too loud, But it was funny, so I'll give you that.

I enjoyed the game, fun little concept, perhaps a little too easy early on, but I guess you have to teach people how it works too :)
Good job.

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

I liked the leaderboards and the graphics but I miss variety after five-six rounds it started to be a bit boring.

However, good idea and not bad ejecution of theme!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:35am

More variety would be good. And I need to restart the game when the enemy and I both failed. I like graphics style.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:25am

crazy idea but not bad

Miltage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I like the concept, there was something similar done before in a previous LD if I remember correctly, so not super-innovative. I really like the graphics. The distant rocks and wind particles were really nice. The game is a little buggy though, and the UI is inconsistent and confusing, I found.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:37pm

It's funny and original, what else could we ask for?

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:50pm

i keep dying???????

xrm0 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nice concept, art style and the dust particles. Like @miltage says, I remember that in the last LD there was also a duel game

JaymeeMak says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:53am

Neat mechanic, was difficult to tell who I was in the beginning.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]