December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aperalim

by samooJAM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just a simple puzzle game made with 2D Unity3D. With help of paint.net, Audacity and Bfxr.net

Controls: mouse1 to pickup/drop a scroll and mouse2 to use it. Drop the scroll by clicking the bag. Spacebar to restart.

Destroy all the figures with spells to win the game.

Available scrolls: fire ball(short red figure), fire bomb(long red figure), ice ball(short blue figure) and ice bomb(long blue figure).
Bombs can be thrown over the walls by choosing a drop location. Figures can be pushed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#276Innovation3.24
#368Mood2.94
#456Audio2.62
#523Graphics2.88
#584Overall2.91
#586Fun2.74
#656Theme2.59
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13am

Good puzzle. I couldn't beat the first level after a few tries. Was hoping to see what was next.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

Pretty creative game!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I don't understand the rules, but the graphics and sounds are funny!

Tanser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice idea, i like it! Well done :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I'm sorry I don't at all get the mechanics. I think you need to explain how the entities work and interact. All I managed was to remove one block with the scroll but as it seemed like I couldn't do more than push the dudes around... I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do.

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The puzzle mechanic was quite innovative and enjoyable, but pushing figures was a bit clumsy and frustrating (also I didn't realise I could do that initially). The game would have benefitted from more of a learning curve with a handful of simple levels that teach you the basic concepts to start with. But certainly one of the better puzzle games I played and it did keep me playing for 10 minutes or so. High marks on innovation for sure!

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:57pm

I found this game to be a bit hard. It could be a bit frustrating, but parts of that can easily be fixed in a post compo version I think.
The scrolls for me were not obvious, so even with the instruction on this page I was still not sure if I had a scroll that would kill a tall blue guy or a small red guy or. It was also a surprise that walls were smashed by the bombs as well.
If you had some extra explanation on the game screen where you could see what scroll would remove what, it would help a lot.
Because you couldn't know before hand what kind of scroll you would get the game is a bit trial and error. That's OK, but because of the large amount of variables it took me a lot of work for a small amount of progress (but maybe I'm just too tired for this game at the moment).

Good idea, nice character, but needs some more work to make it sparkle.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice top down shooter, getting and using the scrolls felt a bit clumsy though.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:52pm

The player could be helped a bit to play the game better, would help the game itself. Does work, though.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I wasnt really sure what to do but... I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to have a look :) http://youtu.be/fAaMjCotTMM

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Interesting concept and mechanics. But it would really have been much better with some simple starting puzzles, rather than getting thrown right into the deep end. Of course, that's tough to do within the limits of the compo. Graphics were cool, and it really worked well with the combination of ambient noises. But, it's pretty obvious that this was designed for "two colors", not "you only get one" :P

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

love the DIY feel and smart puzzles!

Mase says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:24am

Cool character designs, audio, and FX like footprints and melting blocks.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]