December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Patch

by MarekkPie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

# Patch

Patch (PCH) is a puzzle game, made with LOVE 0.8.0 (http://love2d.org/).

## Description

The object of the game is to patch up the missing holes in our grid. However, you only get one tetromino (Tetris piece) type to use. See how quickly you can complete the game and avoid overlapping the already patched tiles.

## Controls

* Left-click: select tetromino / apply patch;
* Left or right arrow: rotate tetromino;
* Up or down arrow: flip tetromino;

## Notes

LOVE 0.9.0 was recently released, and is incompatible with LOVE 0.8.0. The downloads on the main page point to 0.9.0. If need a copy of LOVE 0.8.0, grab it here (https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads).

I developed Patch on a Linux distrobution, so I have not been able to test if the Windows version works or not. Please feel free to comment if there is an issue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#264Innovation3.26
#511Theme2.83
#569Graphics2.79
#676Overall2.79
#845Fun2.32
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15am

Very nice!

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

Hi, tried to play but it isn't working on my Windows 7 64 bit PC. The main menu displays but nothing happens when I click the Tutorial. When I click Play I get a runtime error. Here's a screenshot of it: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/209102/patch_error.jpg

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

I get the same error when I try to play

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Yeah, it was a bug in the Button callback. I'm working on an update. Sorry for the issues!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

The error should be fixed. I'm also working on a version for LOVE 0.9.0, and fixing a transition I had to shelve due to bugs. Thanks for the responses so far.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Wow! What a cool puzzle game. The animations and style was excellent as well. Very well done. I'd like to see a mobile port! Would definitely buy a mobile port for ~$0.99. Good job :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I didn't understand the winning conditions, when the overlapping pieces turn blue, what does that mean? Have I already lost then? Is there some kind of high score based on the number of blue bits? Too bad the tutorial was missing, I might have understood it better.

I had the crash once (with the new version) but didn't know, what exactly I was doing, I restarted the game and everything went fine.

The game might actually be a lot of fun, if I understood it better...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Fun puzzle game. Would have liked an undo button in case of a misclick, but otherwise solid.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Very good entry and fun to play. Gets the mind working.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

@zconnelly13: Thanks for the kind words. I've been meaning to try some mobile development; next time Ludum Dare does one of those "Earn a dollar" challenges I might take you up on the offer.

@rnlf: Sorry about your frustrations. It's based off the Carpentry game from Puzzle Pirates (http://yppedia.puzzlepirates.com/Carpentry). The blue tiles are to show were you overlapped a patch on an already filled tile.

@WhoaConstrictor: Thanks for the compliment. I'm going to take the cop out and say that's part of the theme :)

@WojWorks: Thanks for playing. I really enjoy a good puzzle game as well.

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42am

Tricky puzzles, cool!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:58am

This is a nice game! I wish there was a high score table!

enosshenk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:36am

A very clever concept. I'm not sure if I lost, or if there's just no feedback. I got in a situation where I obviously couldn't win and just started clicking randomly and it took me back to the piece menu with no word.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:31pm

@@Micle2000 (o_O): Thanks!

@josefnpat: I considered it, but I was still making the finishing touches on the game with about an hour left.

@enosshenk: Thanks. I'm not sure what you mean by "couldn't win". If you overlap, that just affects your end game screen (i.e., score).

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I ended up with 73 repeats. The T block was the worst, it hardly fit in anything. :)

Every blue square was a mark of shame and I cringed a little when the block I'd chosen ahead of time was terrible for the level which was amusing.

A good implementation of the theme and could be an interesting basis for a larger puzzle game. Maybe you could also consider a mode where you have a limited number of overlaps to use per level?

The tutorial menu option didn't seem to work for me, by the way. Was able to figure things out fine once in the game though.

Neat stuff overall!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:15am

Nice concept!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:34pm

niceee mate

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Windows version works for me. I think some quick scoring mechanic would have been a great addition to this, as it is, there's not really any incentive to avoid overlapping. It would be great if you could change the size of your tetrinimo as well as its rotation for larger areas to patch, as well as maybe a subtraction mode as well as an addition to get rid of some of the overlap (scoring would need to include number of moves as well as number of overlapped cells)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Oh, also thank you for commenting on my game. I've made a fix for it relating to running it on underpowered GPU's (which I'm guessing probably will help you if you were running it on a touchpad), so if you please, give it another try!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:00pm

I really liked the graphics style and the effects between game modes were engaging. However the game lacked ... feel .. for me. Some sounds would have helped make it more rewarding - nothing much needed! Mapping the actions to mousewheel and RMB would also be cool. I could imagine clicking away at this to try to get the best score etc if there was just a bit more feedback... Pick your favourite Tetris and go, whoop!

chapachapa says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:35am

Nice simple game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]