December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Darkest Friday

by Cake&Code - Jam Entry

You're a retail worker at a toy store working on one of the darkest
and bleakest days of the year: Black Friday.

All customers are allowed one toy, which they will be screaming for.
Your goal is to survive and pass out toys one by one by typing out their requests.
Fail, and you'll be mobbed by some very angry customers.

Coding: Zeik
Art and Design: Cake

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#56Humor(Jam)3.51
#137Fun(Jam)3.24
#145Overall(Jam)3.38
#150Graphics(Jam)3.75
#168Audio(Jam)3.21
#201Mood(Jam)3.08
#248Innovation(Jam)2.90
#284Theme(Jam)2.71

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22am

I got a laugh out of some of the toy names. Addictive and fun, seems pretty polished too. Highly recommended. :)

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19am

Great game to learn speed typing!

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

I wish there were more words and various difficulty levels, only because I want to play the game again and again. Really great typing game!

Royal Railway says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01am

This was surprisingly fun. Big five on the humour. I was laughing so much. Those misspelled names. Fantastic. I'm not sure I felt it went with the theme entirely, though. Only one try to spell it correctly. But I did spell it incorrectly, and while I couldn't use backspace, I could still type it again. There seemed also to be no penalty for letting them reach the till. Awesome game, anyhow! I loved it!

edibletoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

Hilarious! I love this.

More toy names would be great but otherwise great

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

Pretty typical typing game with the twist that you can only see what to type for a moment, but it's really well done.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

Loving the art style! I wish there was more word variety though.

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06am

so polished, great work guys :)

drnick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:20am

Awesome art! Unfortunately a little slow on my good ol' ENIAC PC

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Love this, taught me my touch tying is terrible...

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28pm

@drnick: At least you've got a piece of history!

Sorry if it's slow for anyone, this is our second time working with HTML5 and the first time using the Phaser library so we're still learning about optimizations and how to cut down on processing waste.

Thanks to everyone who's played it so far, hope you had a good time :)

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Simple and to the point. I like it, specially the music! Loved the toy names!

Some issues:
- The Z really looks like a "2". The first time I played I lost because I thought the kid wanted a "Blat2" :-P
- In the main screen, if I mouse over the Cake and Code icon, the mouse changes to a clicking icon, but clicking there does nothing.

Thanks for the game! :-D

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18pm

@caranha: The font is a bit weird, sorry about that! We had to throw away a ton of silly toy names because they were too hard to read actually (things like Berbie looked like Bebbie). Oh, and clicking on our logo does do something ;)

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Looks really polished. Nice gameplay!

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very irritating because I had to type words I haven't seen before. You should consider adding a dictionary where I can read your toy names before the game ;)

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Great game, I wish you'll make some more advanced features like more toy names and add difficulty. Maybe in a post-mortem version ? Anyways, loved it.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Fun/ny game! Could have used some extra mechanics to make it more difficult and last longer.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:19am

Very interesting game. Reminds me of the typing version of House of the Dead where you typed words to quickly kill zombies. This is even scarier then zombies with it being crazed shoppers and even more difficult because you have to reiterate their poor attempts at speach.

I could only help about eight people before I'd fail an attempt. I keep mispelling the misspelled words by about one letter and then BOOM they get all angry at me. Love the art and the theme is very interesting. Great stuff!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:58am

ooh, typing game! :D

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:42am

Nice typing game :D

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I enjoyed this game quite a lot, I like typing games but I don't get to play them very often. I had a few laughs when I saw the parodies in the names but I had some issues recognising a few letters(due to the font).

Great game, I wish it had more levels or a higher difficulty.

P.D.: You guessed right, our game is based on "Lovers in a dangerous spacetime", as explained here:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/14/so-far-so-good-30/

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I usually really like your games and have tons of fun playing them. But this time, I felt it got repetitive too quickly...

I liked the graphical style a lot and, although short, the song loop didn't get tiring... oh, and the toys' names were funny!

But there's no thrill, I only had to repeat the same action some 20~30 times...
Perhaps if from time to time there was a big wave with lots of customers coming at you, or one that stole toys being sent to people it would be more interesting...

It was well done, nonetheless, :)
but not to my liking. :(

P.S.: Reading the others comments, seems like it's really a matter of taste. XD
One can't always please everybody. ^^

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Crazy difficulty, but after a few tries, my i won :D

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice one! Well polished and humorous :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:46am

Nice polish on this, the toy names were pretty funny too. Good job.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I LOVE your art.

this game is not par with your previous entries, but i still will follow you closely guys!

very good work!

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:01am

Interesting idea :D
A nice typing game !

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:17am

Funny names!

Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:07am

Haha nice game, made me smile ! The graphics are cute, interesting gameplay ! Great job :)

eskivor says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:28am

It that a sarcastic game about how much customers can be quickly angry ? Because, it's very easy to lose ^^

jprogman says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:44am

Funny toy names. :) Needs a backspace.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:48am

Sorry, but I didn't like it... It is a overused game, doesn't really relates to the theme, the font makes it hard to understand what is being asked, the words disapear too fast, and finally, I don't like this type of game... lol

But everyone else seem to be enjoying it, so I guess it is just me

angelk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:21am

Very nice! I thought this was a very cute idea, and I was glad that the theme made for a good mechanic (I always instinctively hit the backspace key). The dictionary had some cute entries but I got a little tired of typing the same thing so many times; but all that takes is more entries in the dictionary. I thought it was a lot of fun to play!

StMatn says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

The graphics look really nice! Audio is fitting too.
The gameplay is not really mine, because fast typing is hard for me, if its not myself phrasing the text/words. Well, no minus points for that!
Nice work! :)

finefin says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:17pm

hehe, nice game. the toy names are hilarious :D

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I would have liked to see some sort of score when I won for this type of game. Other than that, it's incredibly-well polished. I love the look and feel of it.

Good job!

Poxymyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:08pm

One of my favorite game from this LD :D I really suck at this, but still and enjoy trying to score more than 5 :D Music is awesome, graphics are nice and gameplay is perfect!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Nicely polished! I like the polygonheads. Comments: it's quite easy if you can touch type, it could have used an explosion if you lose. Also, the number of words is very limited, which made it easier as the game went on, but also gave a sense of accomplishment through learning.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Seems like a ready game and it is overall nicely done. Could have had more words and more chaos... no it was a bit easy. Some of the toy names made me grin :P

Kyle Mac says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Cool idea but there were a lot of things that got on my nerves. I don't understand why I can't backspace. Since most of the words I'm supposed to type are made-up nonsense words, I constantly made typos. The word I'm typing is useless after I've made the typo, so I have to press enter to erase the word and try typing it again. This became incredibly annoying after the first few typing errors. It was also annoying to make a typo because the nonsense word would ofter disappear after making the error. I'm also not quite sure why there are four separate numbers for the gifts since the game ends when all of the numbers decrease to zero. Why not combine them into one number so that it's easier to see my progress? Finally, the shoppers come at you very slowly. It was easy to beat even with the problems I've described.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]