December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gun Grabbers!

by TobiasNL - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CURRENT GUN GRABBER KING: Marcellus with a score of 87087!

I wil continue working on this game after the competition's over.

DESCRIPTION:
Gun Grabbers is a fast paced arcade platform game about stealing a weapon, and getting robbed of it.

There's only ONE weapon, and there are a lot of weaponless greedy lads trying to get that weapon! But you, the player, can also grab that awesome gun! Go slay all those needy & greedy dudes with detonateable mortars and machinegun fire. Watch out though, don't let that power fall into enemy hands, and watch that HEAT meter, getting stunned ain't funny...

I tried to make this game not too hard (my previous entries were just that), but I think I failed.
TIP: use a stun grenade, THEN try to steal his weapon.

It cost me a lot of effort to get this game working before the deadline, but it was totally worth it! There's still one nasty bug though. Hope it won't occur too often (the gun actually dissapears :P)
I used Gamemaker 8, Ejay, SFXR, Cool Edit Pro and my microphone.

I hope you folks enjoy the game!

FEATURES:
-1 training level
-1 highscore based arena level
-smooth gameplay
-sounds & music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#6Fun4.04
#7Graphics4.49
#23Overall3.98
#72Mood3.66
#98Audio3.44
#142Innovation3.52
#155Theme3.52
#191Humor3.09

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15am

Wow, the art is brilliant :)

Very cool!

Lo-X says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28am

I successfully managed ton run it with wine on linux. The arts and the effects are indeed amazing. I've a french keyboard and WASD is not handy, plus the game is sometimes challenging so.. I'm not good at you game :p But it's fun for sure !

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40am

This game is amazing. It's not really challanging at times but its really fun to play. You should add a multiplayer though.

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Excellent game. I felt the special effect and normal art kinda clashed (as in 16 bit art and 32 bit special effects).
Gameplay felt pretty good and music was great too.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Wow

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Awesome work dude!

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Great art and concept. I think the game also need good soundtrack :)

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Not very challenging but really polished look and controls. Fun to play to, nice.

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28pm

This is shockingly well-polished for an LD entry. Nice job.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

The effects of particle and the lighting were very nice!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Absolutly amazing art and gameplay, very good job !!.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Amazing art and very nice game! Gameplay is really fun, a multiplayer mode would be perfect!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Thanks people, really appreciate your comments!

I think I'll continue working on this. It needs some fine tuning and more various enemies.

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Amazing art and gameplay. So much fun. My best so far is 1114.
This game is so much win!

Mindtricks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Fantastic! I love this game, I don't really like the theme interpretation

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

This game is amazing, I love it so much. Going to play it some more after I've written this review. Agree with everyone here - the art is amazing, but there is so much more potential here, consider adding couch multiplayer for that Towerfall/Samurai Gunn experience. I can see this going far! You only get one gun!

backflipppp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

WOW this is pretty awesome! :D

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

My highscore was around 21k. It gets super easy once you get the hang of it. You might want to start spawning the bigger dudes earlier and the small ones more often after a while.

This game is amazing though. The art style is soooooooooo good. There are so many good things going on on the screen that it just feels really great to play it. It's one of the best I've played so far. Really really good job!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Wow, thanks all! :D
I'll consider all suggestions... I might implement them later!

@adnzzzzZ: Haha that's a pretty wild score man. You win :P The game should indeed feature more challenge (more varied enemies?) as it gets too easy after a few rounds playing. I'll look into it after the competition!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Absolutely amazing. When you participate in LDs a few times you come along a lot(!) of "enemy wave incoming, shoot with your machine gun" games and I am honestly pretty bored by them because even if they are well executed and are fun for 10 seconds, it just doesn't suit me and I think they are boring to a lot of people even if they like the genre.

To make a long story short: The scoring part and the fact that the enemies steel your gun (how fckn cool is that?) make this a brilliant game. Not to mention that it looks gorgeous.
Well - that's just my opinion. I think I made my point clear. Good job ;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Really great gameplay, very nicely made. I'd love to play with other people in arena!
Maybe you should increase the need to cash the money (like getting one HP back). Or maybe I didn't get everything (like 2* multiplayer ennemies). I'll try again. Bravo.
My score is 45977.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12pm

http://prntscr.com/2bostu

Best game i've seen tonight by far, please please please make a multiplayer version !

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Wow you guys all are winners haha... DAT SCORES!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Great entry! Graphics are awesome, and gameplay is very fun, as well as fitting.

Brilliant job!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:02pm

wow nice art! Awesome *love this game!!!* Thank you for sharing this with us!
I had som problems to read the texts because the colors are so shiny on the dark.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:32am

The art is brilliant! The idea behind it is cool! And more important... it's fun! AWESOME!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Really great entry, well done. :)

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I'm working on a post compo version as we speak, so keep your eyes open if you like this game :]

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:26am

amazing ART! i was really impressed

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:32am

Not bad. Excellent art and very polished for 48 hours.
But theme is "You Only Get One", not "Arena Shooter" or something else...

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:28am

My concept on the theme is, that there is only one gun. Meaning that the enemies can steal the gun, and you have to try to steal it back.

kutullu says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Wow, great game! Looks pretty amazing, given the timeframe. Gameplay is really polished. :)
Probably my favorite so far!

Cheers, Marcus

DST says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Amazing work! The graphics and gameplay are awesome and it's nice take on the theme too!

Mago says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Amazing! I had a lot of fun with it! Great work!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:22am

As well rounded as this is, it feels a bit too difficult to have too much fun with. Otherwise, a very solid entry.

TobiasNL says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Thanks all! :)
I've added a post compo version which adresses a few balance issues and adds more challenge to the game. It also features more music and a new enemy!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]