December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Little Hero

by Freel4tte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, finally. This is my 4th ludum dare contest, but my first where I've finished my game.

This game includes an ingame manual so I'll explain a little bit here in the comments.

This game is based on one level and one level only. There are three game modes which can occur each new level. When you accomplish a game mode, you will restart at the starting point with a new objectiv and obstacle.

There are 7 different obstacles which are chosen at random. So every new level you have a combination of one of the tree objectives and one of the seven obstacles.

There is also a timer which starts at 40 seconds everytime a new level is loaded. When this timer hits 0 your character will die. If you accomplish an objective the remaining time will be added to your score.

Let me warn you: This game can be quite unfair. Everything is randomly generated so some things could be placed in such a manner that it might be impossible to reach.

This game is made for fast and continous playing. Just try to get as far as you can. It might be hard to understand when you first play it, but read the manual and just play the game. After some deaths you will get the hang of it.

I hope you enjoy this game as much as I enjoyed making it. And that everything works as intended.

Programmers note: Sure this game has still some bugs and whatnot but its quite stable. My codes are quite messy with no comments and "not-so-good" functions. But hey, I only got 48 hours to make a game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#347Theme3.15
#396Innovation3.05
#491Overall3.00
#507Fun2.85
#545Mood2.69
#610Audio2.26
#726Graphics2.47
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I really like the random gametype aspect in this game. The animations are smooth, and the game is pretty fun too play. The game is lacking a variety of sounds though.

Harsay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:56pm

One level and random generated objectives. I like it!

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Nice play on the theme. I find the game too hard, but others might like it this way. Nice graphics.

TeamKl0n says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Same level, random objectives, random hazards. Genious!
It's really hard, because it's really hard to "learn strategies". When you die, everything is changed.

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:57pm

This is pretty awesome! I love it!

drentsoft says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:32am

So cute!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:43am

Scored high in Theme but low on Graphics/Audio

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:04am

Really liked the sword animation. Neat game. :)

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:05am

Me likes random generated stuff! Here, sir, take my like!

Jokes aside, your idea is super cool. And it's amazing what you managed to accomplish in only 48 hours! Oh, procedural content validation can be quite hard/tricky sometimes. If you're interested in this subject let's exchange e-mails - i'm really into this kind of stuff! :)

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:06am

Me likes random generated stuff! Here, sir, take my like!

Jokes aside, your idea is super cool. And it's amazing what you managed to accomplish in only 48 hours! Oh, procedural content validation can be quite hard/tricky sometimes. If you're interested in this subject let's exchange e-mails - i'm really into this kind of stuff! :)

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:07am

Sorry for double posting :(

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:43am

hahahah Cute and very Fun little game! Love how when the princes has little hearths xD LOL also the sounds are funny xD i don't like very much the movement system because i feel it needs something idk :S but its ok! I also like how the hero attacks hahaha! Nice! The game has a a lot of content even if it has only one map and is challenging sometimes! Excellent Work!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I actually liked this game. The random game type idea was brilliant, and I just loved the sword animations, very cute and cool at the same time. The sound effects were very fitting, maybe except for the white laser thing that.. was very high :P - The game was very difficult, but I found it to be okay in this type of game. All in all I really liked the idea, and you managed to make simple graphics stand out. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]