December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Duck Pond

by handCraftedRadio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Duck Pond v1.0

a game by SharkArm Curt
www.SharkArmStudios.com

---Description-----

Play as a mother duck who only has one pond to raise her ducklings. Hatch eggs and protect your little ones as you avoid

the dangerous predators all around you.

---Instructions-----

-Use the arrow keys to move.
-Press Z to pick up a duckling or egg.
-Press down near a plant to eat it.
-Run into insects to eat them.
-Lay an egg after eating 5 times.
-Keep the egg out of danger until it hatches.
-Lead baby ducklings away from predators.
-Keep ducklings alive to score points.

-----------------------

Thanks for playing!

Let me know what you think!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Fun3.83
#68Overall3.75
#92Innovation3.67
#179Mood3.32
#205Humor3.05
#328Audio2.83
#371Graphics3.17
#511Theme2.83
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

OddOneOut says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

I love the minimalist Atari-esque feel, great work!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

doh, wish there was a mac or web version

dznemotion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

It remember my atari games. Very funny!!! Great job.

oojava says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Loved it... So simple yet so much fun

ViliX says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Interesting idea..

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Heh. A fun little fast-paced game. So hard to keep those ducks alive not to mention yourself as well!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Hey, this is really good. Being a mother is hard though! My poor babies.

I scored 815 before I was carried off by a predator bird.

Nice retro feel in everything and very cleverly designed gameplay. Good job!

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04pm

The game was pretty awesome once I understood how the game works. At first I kept hatching my eggs underwater and not eating plants, but once I learned how the game worked, the game was pretty fun and definitely challenging. So all in all, good job! :D

Donutttt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13pm

This was excellent. I'd call it the best game I've played so far fairly confidently. Clever idea, good graphics, and fun as well. Great work!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:38pm

That's quite difficult, but also quite original. Good game.

cudabear says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Very difficult, but not in a bad way! Played until my fingers hurt :), got 710 points. There seems to be an invisible wall at 3 ducklings, any more makes it impossible to dodge enemy birds. Very nice gameplay, but I didn't think the graphics were too hot and it could have used some music. Well done.

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

Very clever prototype. It would be better if the movement is smooth.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]