December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Robo Juicestice

by BNeutral - Jam Entry

And we are done. The official entry is sort of incomplete save on the art department due to lack of time.
The post jam version was finished about 2 days later, fixing a variety issues to a certain extent, while not addressing others because reasons.
Rate by the original, but play the post jam if you want something more enjoyable.

Shwig left a controversial art piece at the end if you manage to kill the boss all the times required to win~

You can press any key to speed up the intro text.

A slightly more in depth explanation of the controls and moves:
The theme was "you only get one", in order to execute on this idea we made a game where you start with 6 "powers" and lose one each time you beat the game until you are left with only one: Jump

The powers are:
Q/E-Dash- you dash to the right or left. you can kill enemies by dashing into them.
W-Double jump- fairly self explanatory
A/D- Wall grab- you can grab on to walls by running into them in the air.
M1- Mouse shooting- Again, pretty self explanatory
Space- Sword/Shoot- at all points until you lose it, you have a sword attack you can use by pressing space. This attack is also a good tool to control your jumps as it changes your velocity. In addition when you lose mouse shooting you get 8 directional shooting, which is controlled by the wasd keys and space.
W-Jump- You can jump on enemies to kill them

Not quite a power- S- you can press S to fall down faster, really helps with controlling your jumps

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Graphics(Jam)4.55
#42Audio(Jam)3.77
#110Mood(Jam)3.44
#305Overall(Jam)3.03
#337Fun(Jam)2.68
#363Humor(Jam)2.00
#447Theme(Jam)2.23
#490Innovation(Jam)2.17
#965Coolness49%

Comments

Rscar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13am

Loved the art! Felt like there was a definite gap after the first wave of enemies...props on the final boss art, totally badass

oxysoft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:20am

Whoever the artist was, tell him he may have just gotten you a excellent final rank for graphics in 3 weeks. He seriously is overpowered, I can't believe he did all of this sick pixel art in 48 hours

Shwig says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21am

the artist says thanks!

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Art is absolutely amazing! Some improvements to be made - such as background parallax as it seemed to "stick" to the player position :) Final boss art... well.. wow!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Loved that pixel art. Very funky ;) Pretty good entry man!

blackarm says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:48am

The controls feel awkwardly placed, unresponsive and floaty. The art is great though. The end boss is intense, but suffers from z-ordering that makes no sense, so making sense of him in the scene is a strain. I wouldn't call "touching a boss's non-moving head and dying" a great mechanic either, especially when you should be showcasing a gorgeous boss, and not the background (which you see more often than him after being touched).

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:31am

The graphics and music were both great. The controls felt very sluggish at times, though.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Great artwork! Echoing some other commentors, the controls/movement could use some tweaking but overall it's really nice.

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Perfect. I love the hardcore difficulty and controls. Takes me back to the 90's games. Music is phenomenal. Not one of the original usage of this theme but perfectly executed. Good job!

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:41pm

That was really cool! Even though unfinished it's still one of the best games on the Jam! Excellent art, fluid and really fun controls and brilliant sound/music. Get this one finished!

larb says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:09am

Amazing art and music and sound. The movement and jumping felt a little floaty and weird. I fell into the lava a lot. Really cool entry!

Photon says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:22am

The graphics are absolutely amazing. In general, it's a great presenation.

Beyond that, unfortunately, its very mediocre. The physics are way too loose, wall jumps got in my way more than they helped, and in general the game just doesn't have much strong gameplay content.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:53am

Art is beautiful, and the audio is great! There were definitely a few frustrating gameplay quirks though. The wall stick/jump was really annoying, especially on the stairs. The hitbox on the fireballs for the king were way off. Otherwise, great entry!

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:03am

Amazing art!! This game was a bit hard to play with a touchpad, but overall it's pretty solid. I was a bit confused during the boss fight, after many death and what I thought could be the death of the boss itself, the game stopped and asked me to press <1>. Is that the normal ending?
Great job!

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Really good art: great graphics, music and sounds!
Controls are a bit difficult for I'm using an AZERTY keyboard: alternate controls with arrows would be great.
Well done folks!

SaintHeiser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:04am

Only graphics awesome.

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:45am

Art as a whole is really good, but was let down in the level tiles. Having the background parallax at the same speed as the character looked really weird too. Audio was great. The controls felt sloppy - you really need to have faster direction changing and better in-air control for the little platform at the boss stage. Secondarily, hitboxes were very poor and I found it impossible to beat the second boss stage due to the massive yellow balls with hitboxes three times their apparent size. There's also very little feedback when you die, especially as it is bugged to continue showing your gun and shooting.

vapgames says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I like the style and the character movement. Yep completely static background is very disorienting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]