December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Gold Coin

by Blue Glaucus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a beggar in a medieval town and meet a generous stranger. How will you spend the money he gives you? This is what I threw together using Twine for the first time during a very busy weekend. It's only about 5 hours of actual work and there might be some things that don't make sense. I have plenty of other ideas I wanted to add, but not enough time to do so. The game doesn't really have an end, but running out of money will definitely limit what you can do. Right click the source link and save it to open it up in Twine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Vanish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

You've got the beginnings of an interesting story. Try to get more done next time!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:07pm

History Twine! Like it a lot.. Nice work.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:19am

Nice choose your own adventure.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Animation lack... I like the concept but isn't my game type... However, the story is fun!

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:35am

Well written story (the little there is).

Too bad you didn't get further.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:13pm

in only five hours this is good work. would like to see it finished.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Hay, this program looks familiar. nice to see i am not the only one that made a twine game for LD28. I like the story and idea. The moral is nice too, only wish you could do a bit more with your gold. Keep at it, i would like to see where this story ends.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:09am

Wish it was finished? But a cool concept nonetheless.

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:11am

This was an interesting beginning of a story. Makes me curious to try out Twine. Could have used an ending or something, but it was nice that a couple of options opened up as the story progressed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]