December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Farm Fortress

by Kroltan - Jam Entry

Defend your farm against the invaders!
Build fences and towers to protect your farm, all of this whilst guaranteeing the profit of your only farm!

Features:
* Income system favoring precise timing
* Fence builder and defenses
* Propritary AI, find their weaknesses
* Crops!

How to play:
1. Build a foundation and upgrade to a house
2. Plow and plant tiles for profit
3. Build structures to defend your farmhouse!

* The bigger your farm, more people will try to stop you!
* Protect your only farmhouse, if you don't have any, you lose.
* Time income with your farms to augmentate gold input!
* This is a hardcore economy sim! Abuse the system or be abused by it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#216Fun(Jam)3.00
#319Innovation(Jam)2.71
#360Overall(Jam)2.88
#398Graphics(Jam)2.71
#417Humor(Jam)1.75
#451Mood(Jam)2.30
#539Theme(Jam)1.68
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29am

Damn, it is simple but powerful concept. It would be a good game if released as mobile game.

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35am

don't really see where the theme is, but it's kinda fun trying to figure out how to get a little further. also wish there was maybe just a little less clicking ;)

clearlyspam23 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

Really liked the concept. Planting and protecting your farm is surprisingly addictive.

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12am

this was enjoyable until i ran out of gold, i had a huge fortress and then went to buy a farm without thinking and was completely stuck.

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20am

Always fun to manage farm and money. Nice game.

romandtom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46am

Realy addictive, nice idea :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Great concept and it's well implemented too! Could use some music and sound effects! :)

chicknstu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Neat concept. For anyone who is struggling... the key is to build another house ASAP. Your income seems to go up exponentially.

You can cheat a bit. If you don't plow / plant more than 4 fields, it seems that attackers never come. So you can just keep building houses and making a ton of money.

Great idea, definitely something there. Nice :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Cool idea ! I like the way it's presented, the isometric graphics. Nice game :)

Kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Thank you all for your reviews!

@iamwhosiam: The theme is actually a derivation of the LD theme, because I was out of ideas. Many games came with the subtheme "survival" so i decided to orient this game on this idea. Also, the fact that you have only one type of farm. About the gold, you need to time your incomes. See, farms cost 5 to be planted, but give only 4 when harvested. The only way to profit in this game is having the maximum amount possible of planted tiles before the timer on the top left resets, because when it does, you get 6 * (<number of farms> / 2) * <number of houses>, or if you prefer, 6 gold for every two farms multiplied by every house.

@Linus Lindberg: Oh I concur, but I'm a worse than terrible sound artist, and I don't know any who would've been kind enough to help me.


@chicknstu: Thank you for exploring the game! Actually, it just multiplies income by the amount of houses you have. About the attackers trick, they start spawning with 6 farms, so when you have 5 you're still safe. In testing, I used this trick to see how well the gold scaled over the amount of houses, and it becomes actually pretty plain after the 30th house. You'll not even have to worry about gold by then, though.

@archaeometrician: Thanks! It was actually perspective top-down until 5 minutes before releasing, thanks to the game that loosely inspired me, Cultivation (http://cultivation.sourceforge.net/).

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Despite being a fan of resource management games, the lackluster usability kind of ruins the potential. There's simply not enough information shown to the player. Little things like highlighting selected tiles, showing your gold income in a meaningful way, AND NOT BEING ABLE TO BUILD A FENCE ON TOP OF YOUR ONLY HOUSE GASFASDA would already come far. I can't believe you don't even show when the next batch of enemies is going to attack.

It starts off really sluggish, and the endgame comes soon since there's not that many upgrades. Surprised this is a jam game, because with 3 days' work, one would expect more content.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:47pm

A fun little farm fortress simulator :)

Do you ever get attacked? I had quite a busy little farm going, and no baddies.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Could use a bit more polish. Stuff like structure health points, maybe indicators that the enemies are attacking this building, etc. It could also be nice if you let the player know when the enemies are coming (e.g. next wave coming in 60 seconds, or in this case, enemies will attack upon planting the 6th crop)

But other than that, the gameplay is really addictive! I'd really like to see this finished and maybe made into a mobile game, I'd play the hell out of it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]