December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Data Stains

by Evilion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MEMORIES ARE DATA STAINS.


As a cosmic computer janitor, you have to clean the memories of the recently dead entity before its reincarnation, in order to avoid the reminiscence of memories during its next instance.

Please do your job well, you know we don't like when entities remember their previous existances.





Controls :

UP : "Move forward"
LEFT : "Rotate left"
RIGHT : "Rotate right"
SPACE : Disable/Enable memory
ENTER : Conclusion (use only when the job is done)

R : Restart
ESCAPE : Exit (Windows version)
Right Click,Go Fullscreen : Go fullscreen (Web version)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#25Graphics4.32
#59Innovation3.79
#97Mood3.53
#154Audio3.24
#386Overall3.15
#668Humor1.87
#829Fun2.35
#872Theme2.13

Comments

EatThePath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

I have no idea what I'm doing and frankly trying to figure it out is proving somewhat hard on the eyes.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:24pm

No idea what happened in that but was diffrent, was their a goal?

Manou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:35pm

I don't know if it's a game, but it looks and feels awesome.

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:37pm

The gameplay is uncomprehensible.
Howewer, there's something in it! The idea of separation of memories from... "entity" is pretty serious and there's a great atmosphere.
So... I liked it! :)

Evilion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Understanding the gameplay and what the fuck is happening is part of the experiment, but obviously the stuff is not clear at all. I added more accurate instructions, maybe it will help a bit

Evilion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:06pm

By the way the game can also be played just as another random contemplative experiment, and I'll be really happy if you could appreciate it in this perspective at least !

Polyganz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10pm

This looks very intriguing and poetic however I have no idea how it works or what i'm actually supposed to be doing. There is no clear feedback thus playing it gets boring and unsatisfactory quickly.

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Unclear what is supposed to be happening.

Graphics and effects are brilliant though.

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:00pm

This is amazing I love it

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I don't know if I got it right (probably not) but it kept my hands ans mind busy for quiet a while either way. I LOVE the visual style!

Art.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Atmosphere is really good but I've absolutely no idea what's going on!

Maple says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Everyone seems to have said it all already in the way of gameplay, but visually this is a gem. Reminds me of demoscene demos -- a good thing! Also I somehow made everything black and concluded with no memories deleted, on one of my plays.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07pm

I don't know what just happened. But i liked it very much.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

So strange and so pictorial ^^

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Great eye candy but hard to figure out if there's a goal in particular.

dudsen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Wow. Mind blowing presentation. Nice abstract and refreshing style. Very interesting to fiddle around and get used to the mechanics, BUT still very hard to find and erase all of the memories... Maybe because I suck in memory management at programming :D

Did you work with matrices? Really love the way the images are generated. Imagine this stuff projected on a wall and maybe controlled by a touchpad - that would be killer.

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:54am

Let me try to explain what I just played. When I press the arrow keys the the colorful square sperm swim around, and I can also hit space to turn off the lights. When I'm done with that, I press enter and have the game tell me that I lost.

This is what people mean when they talk about pretentious, meaningless art games.

Evilion says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04am

I'm sorry but the game never tell you that you lost. I don't like the term "art game", I think it's effectively a pretentious and meaningless naming, that's why I never use it when I make stuff, even if most of the stuff I'm making is not conventional. I like to experiment and get away from normal structures, like scores, levels, victory/defeat, etc. Please don't judge me too much, because it makes me sad é_è

Hiku says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:25am

You should explain the game a little more, but when I understood it I liked the idea :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:40pm

To be it was very pleasing to just play with the arrows and the let the tailed cubes swoosh over the screen and land in ordered patterns. Order was much more fun than disorder. I think the cosmic janitor bit was somewhat unnecessary. It might be my very strong aversion towards mysticism and religion speaking, though. Nice experience away from all these one-shot games.

udo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:08am

Wow, this is a difficult one. I'm not sure if walking through the "zones" and turning them dark was the goal, but in the end I deleted all the memories and the individual was reincarnated - so I guess I won? ;) The game was at times beautiful (the swarming memories) and moving (at the end they tell you what you just deleted), but I'm not sure I get this whole religious angle and from a logical perspective: why is it called reincarnation when everything about that person gets deleted? I really don't understand how that makes sense, but maybe that's sort of the point..? Anyway, it was interesting and the game is certainly creative!

Evilion says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:26am

Ahah no it's not really about religion, but there's certainly some mystics in it ! Like I said in my last post, to maintain the illusion that the individual has only one life, you have to delete all his memories before his soul/stuff reincarnate in a new body, otherwise he'll remember that he had other lifes and...well I don't know, it would damage the cosmic order or something ahah

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:37am

Very 2010s. LD needs less platformers and more creative experiments like this. You get my seal of non-foolgarbage.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:00am

Also, people, go read the author's commentary: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/18/about-data-stains/

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Interesting experimental game, very nice style and mood. I don't mind that it doesn't tell you if you lost, but I was able to get all the data-sperm black, so then I "submitted" that and just got a black screen that I didn't see a way out of. Seemed more like a bug instead of having some sort of resolution. I like your ideas, though, I'm going to check out your other works :)

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:48pm

This is wonderful.
My suggestion to avoid so much misunderstanding from your players would be that you replace the "cosmic janitor" blurb by a text simply saying that the aim of the game is to explore it and its (rather simple) mechanics.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:56pm

The ENTER on my keyboard is broken and the ENTER on the right of it don't seem to work on your game. So frustrating cause i love the graphics, and what i like in games is being lost and experiment and think until i understand what to do. Clearly your kind of game here. I'll try it again on another computer.

jerombd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I enjoyed the few times I played the game BEFORE reading the "explanation"; I make my own background story, give my own meanings to the changes of shapes and colors, etc. so I was a bit disappointing reading the real goal of this game XD Anyway, it was a funny experience!

Evilion says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I usually don't tell obviously my own interpretation of my own games, but this time I wanted to tell a story. However, it's not the "true" story, I mean there is never a "true" explanation or meaning. What the player find in the game is not always the same stuff that the author put in it. In fact I prefer when people tell me about what thye find in the game and it's a totally different from what I imagined initially while making the game !

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I think it would have been more fun without the swearing and the sperm. If you'd done it with flowers, say, it'd hit a higher note.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:07am

Really neat seeing the cubes rearrange themselves. :)

bentog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:10am

Help! What do I do? This looks awesome!

Several says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:18am

I half-read the explanation first, and now I'm curious how much I might've puzzled out, but mostly on an ego level.

Having half-read your post, I had a sense of what I needed to do, and roughly how to go about it. While the visuals are great, I quickly focused on the objective over the visuals. After being more or less certain I achieved the objective, I hit enter. Seeing the list of deleted memories helped the experience snap unexpectedly into something much more evocative and appreciable.

I wouldn't say the gameplay itself is particularly enjoyable on its own, but I think it does play a necessary role in your entry, and--for me, at least--the entry evoked an an unusual and interesting response, which is the kind of thing I look for in art.

Thanks for sharing both the entry and the explanation.

Capro says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Your work is extremely interesting.

Whishkey says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I think I know what's going on now. Pretend you are inside a cube. You face one side of it. You can press left or right to rotate your view of the cube. So there would be four sides you can see. Each side is a part of a an entire memory. Seeing one side of it is only a part of the entire thing. Disabling one side would disable the entire cube and therefore the memory itself.

Moving forward would bring you into another memory cube. Again, you can do the same to it. Seeing it, disabling it and whatever. So, I guess you can say that you are in sort of a maze made out of cubes. There would be dead ends, in this case those sides that shake when you try to move forward.

That's my best explanation for what's goin' on here.

I give credit to RockLeeSmile for leading me to this interesting entry.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

Beautiful. One of my favourites!

xrm0 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Didn't know what to do. But beautiful visuals.

Simon says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Thank you for doing such a game. That's exactly the kind of games I'd like to see more in the Ludum Dare. You tried something different and it was risky so thank you and nice job, I really liked it.
Now, I must confess that I liked it to a certain point and after that I was a bit disappointed. The game seemed complex and beautiful and weird and not very rational. But when I understood that a black room was a disabled memory space I just kept moving randomly until I could not find any white room. Then I pressed enter and that was it. It lacks a hint, moving randomly is pointless. I believe that there could have been a hint hidden in each room so that there is a path to follow maybe from room to room or something like that.
Anyway, nice job !

LTPATS says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:14am

Wow I love this, a bit vague but I think it's perfect that way. If people don't like it then whatever, it's really interesting and the concept behind it is even more so!

Not entirely sure where the theme fits in, I'm assuming something to do with only having one mind / life or something

Beautiful graphics and sound! Seems like a good tool to just unwind and space out to.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]