December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bitman

by gupta_shvm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a hitman. Choose your gun and kill the brown bugs!
Use the arrow keys to move around and jump, and press X to shoot.
If the game shows a dll error, run the attached vcredist_x86.exe.
Made using Visual C++ 2012 and SDL 2.0.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#492Humor2.26
#497Audio2.52
#664Theme2.58
#739Fun2.50
#772Graphics2.36
#828Mood2.24
#953Overall2.28
#962Innovation1.95
#998Coolness48%

Comments

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

The enemies followed my character's movements a little TOO well, to the point where I couldn't jump over any of them, and the only option was to shoot them (which isn't possible when they are already below you, mind you. As such, I couldn't finish the first level. On top of that, when I was dead, I was still able to shoot and move around. I could only exit the game when I clicked the "X" button. I gave it several honest attempts, but I couldn't really make it though. On the plus side, I liked the sound effects!

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

Unplayable -- there are no instructions for how to fire your gun. After trial and error I figured out that X fires the gun, but also kills you. Once you die you can still move around but there's no way to play the level alive again.

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

Fixed above problems

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20am

Except the you can still play after you die. I can't really fix that at this point.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21am

Yay!
It looks like some enemies are turds.
Like it..

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Hmm, shooting at the start kills you if you don't move a wee bit. I like the aesthetic though! Agree about being unable to jump over baddies. They anticipate you a wee bit too well.

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Yeah i agree with the first comment, it is a bit hard because ennemies are following you pixel perfect style. I like the shaking of the camera.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Also experiencing problems mentioned in comments.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:20am

Hey thanks for posting fixes! I'm not sure if this is intentional or not, but I really like how the sound effects line up to make a beat like a minimalist techno song.

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05am

@mtinkerhess
I noticed that too, but it wasn't really intentional.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:11pm

This was fun - I liked the way the guns worked. I agree that the enemies were maybe a little too fast, but it was manageable. Great effort!

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:11am

Changing weapon make very little difference, the enemies have a very straightforward AI that does little to add interest to the game. The only level doesn't have any interesting feature. Good start for a game but much of the stuff put into the game make so little difference it is mostly wasted effort. You should try to make each thing you add count.

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:52am

@tobbez Hmm makes sense. I'll keep those things in mind while developing my next game.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:35am

Cool game, love the different guns. I included this in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 28 Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/EG4kRkM_i_s

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:40am

Cool, but I would have liked if there were more levels!
Everything was good, but the movement of the enemy's is maybe a little *to* good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]