December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Voyage

by nikev - Jam Entry

Goal: Keep at least one crew member alive and not insane until the destination is reached.

How to play:
If a crew member turns yellow he is sick. Move him to a room containing the medical table (green room) or chemicals (blue room). Failure to do so may result in death.

If a crew member turns blue he is depressed. Move him to a room containing a sleep chamber (red room) or chemicals (blue room). Failure to do so may result in insanity.

Chemicals are not as effective as a medical room or sleep chamber.

If a crew member turns a dark grey color he is hungry. Eventually he will die.

If an engine malfunction occurs place a crew member at the yellow tiles next to the back of the ship until it is fixed.

If a navigation malfunction occurs place a crew member at the yellow tiles next to the front of the ship until it is fixed.

Failure to fix a malfunction adds days to the total travel time.

Meteor strikes may occur if weapons are not chosen. These damages cannot be fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Innovation(Jam)3.23
#262Graphics(Jam)3.23
#263Mood(Jam)2.89
#337Fun(Jam)2.68
#349Overall(Jam)2.91
#353Theme(Jam)2.50
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Using a Mac so I wasn't able to try the game...too bad, looks like the style is very cool.

ehtd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:43am

game missing a dll, could not play

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45am

Error message "Missing msvcp110.dll"

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice! My crew members are all going insane, but it's cute. :D

RadioLemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

The graphics and everything look good, but unfortunately I was a little confused on what I was doing or what was going on

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

looks neat, wish you had a mac version

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

Nice game ! My crew gone crazy too :P Cool game !

nikev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25am

If you don't want your crew to go crazy put them in a room with a sleep chamber or chemicals for a day or two :)

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:37am

i really liked this! i did have trouble keeping track of which character was feeling what once i swapped them around a bunch. i hope you expand on this because i think it could turn into something really neat.

Several says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38am

"Porting […] can happen after the initial 48 hours. The longer you wait though, the less of a chance other participants will have to play your game."

(from: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/rules/ )

...so go make a mac build, please!

nikev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:57am

I will try to make a Mac build. It will probably be close to the 48 hour deadline though if I am able

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:25am

I wond despite one dead crew member, one hungry, one insane, and an engine malfunction. I had trouble figuring out the gameplay (I still don't know what I'm doing or who has what affliction), but I really love the concept!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Great idea!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:50pm

The game is pretty basic, but even so it manages to create some pressure, I managed to get to the end with with one dead, one insane and one depressed!
Some sound would have added greatly to the mood... Even if in space, no one hears you scream...

strong99 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Love the pressure build up. Had some minor issue figuring out how to move them, but that was the only inconvient :) Nice concept and fitting graphics.

foumart says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Missing dll. Too bad, I was looking to try this..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]