December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rick and The Ghost

by TheGamingProject - Jam Entry

"Rick and The Ghost" is a point and click adventure game where you play as a ghost and haunt Rick a cigarette smoking monkey with a day job. The game essentially has two phases. The first phase is "the haunting" were the player finds ways to haunt Rick, each object that is haunt-able comes with three options each effecting rick differently with last option always being "Do nothing". The second phase is when Rick comes into play, he will go about his day which changes with each object that was haunted.

We didn't really finish "Rick and The Ghost" (which is made pretty clear by all the debugging text) as we ran out of time. Thinking this game would be simple to finish we quickly realized how intensive the art and animation had become. That being said we had a lot of fun working on this game and gained a lot of knowledge. After a little rest we plan to finish "Rick and The Ghost" and add more content. The game is designed modularly so adding new content is only a matter of making said content.

We will keep an updated link to the game as we continue work while keeping the compo version up as well.

Hope you enjoy what we made.

HTML 5 RULES!
The Gaming Project


Edit: Our interpretation of the theme was 'You Only get one day to haunt Rick for your ghost interview"
We are aware of the lagginess, its related to not loading/caching properly (new library troubles), and we are working on a post-LD version :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#106Graphics(Jam)3.97
#174Humor(Jam)2.75
#196Innovation(Jam)3.06
#371Mood(Jam)2.61
#426Overall(Jam)2.69
#432Audio(Jam)2.00
#446Fun(Jam)2.36
#484Theme(Jam)2.09

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49am

loved the graphic style.

cobhc6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Didn't get the game to work apparently... Graphics looks really nice though!

ALobker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Looks good, but not really that interesting and obviously buggy.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:48pm

really weird and cool game i kinda liked it

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Reminds me on this NES game where your goal was to scare a family out of "your house" by manipulating things. A pity that this one isn't finished yet :/

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:21pm

The graphics look very nice, but they are loaded after a level starts. It would be nice to see which things you can click, for example by changing the cursor or highlighting the object. The game doens't look finished yet, but it has some potential. :)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Love the animations and the character, look forward to seeing more. Like the humour style and the occasional dialogue from Rick!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

a lot of cool ideas set up here, like the concept of being some outside force in a point-n-click rather than just an extension of the main character. Needs a bit of work, but a good amount of effort shows in this.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

niceee

plancien says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

Was buggy for me. But I find the concept, plot and graphics attractive.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

The game has very unresponsive controls. At the first play though I got stuck at the table and thought the game got stuck but I apparently had to click the arrow.
In the first stage you could see what you can click but in the second I did not know what I could click. I marked the calendar an replaced the food but that was all. It was not really fun but I think mostly because it was unfinished.

Nevertheless I really liked the animation and the graphics.

occash says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

veri nice idea! but on this step of development, i think it is not so interesting as it could be...

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Nice game, congrats!

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Really dig the graphics!... wish there was some sound... also, it could be better if instructions are displayed as the gameplay progresses, rather than put it all in one screen...

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I'm sorry but on my browser is a little laggy...
Perhaps nice graphic and animation! Really nice!

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:33am

Game bugs at the kitchen part! Great graphics!

taocayo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:48pm

It's heading in a interesting direction. The gameplay reminds me of Ghost Trick: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ghost-trick-phantom-detective/id489113377?mt=8

CaptainKraft says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:33am

Looks great. Interesting idea

TeamQuadratic says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:53am

It was really cool but I can't say I really enjoyed it after the first time through

Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:53am

Love the concept and graphics. Really cool.

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Maybe you should come up with more things to do in each scene? Seems like they mostly fly past.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:00pm

It's a shame that you weren't able to finish a lot of things in time for the initial version but I did like the graphics and concept a lot.

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:12pm

nice graphics and interesting concept. I played through a couple of times but I couldn't find the content shown in two of your screenshots (outside the house and living room, by the looks of it)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Neat idea. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]