December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

HootBow

by Pixelulsar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow or WASD to move
hold E or X to charge and release to shoot
M to mute

You're and owl that only gets one arrow to defend itself. Fight off numerous enemies and try to stay alive. Post what round you made it to.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#47Graphics4.10
#141Theme3.55
#202Overall3.40
#256Fun3.24
#285Audio2.92
#434Humor2.37
#502Mood2.75
#620Innovation2.73

Comments

SiM2SiM says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

Made to to round 4, really fun and enjoyable.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26am

Really fun and polished, an excellent game. Only one arrow! Same idea here! ;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Love the graphics! :)

weazen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Awesome job with the one arrow theme. I tried that myself, but I like your implementation a lot better.

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Nice concept and cool pixel art style :)

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52pm

very fun, great art and sound :)

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Neat game, it was a lot of fun. The only complaint is that the music piles on top of itself every time you restart the game after you die. The graphics are great and gameplay is super!

travislucia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:38am

What a hoot! Great job on the art and straightforward simple gameplay.

henrykun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09am

I love the graphics!, the idea is very nice too but a bit difficult. Interesting, good job!.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36am

Fun game, good graphics and nice mechanic.

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37am

The graphics are awesome and the audio fit good too. Funny game, I like it

Flux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

Like a medieval super crate box... with a creepy owl. :) Not bad!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

this was very cute and polished! i enjoyed the art style, no mistakes.. the only thing i found wrong with it was that the jumping was a little wonky. great entry!

bakpakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41am

Got to round 3. I like it. Simple, great use of theme, sharp and polished looking.

toaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:12am

Fun game, got to round 7. It's pretty addicting.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

I'll start off with what I don't like.
I'm not crazy about the sfxr sound effects. I don't like the feel of the jumping or maybe it's the jump speed.

What I do like... everything else. Very charming sprites, great bow mechanic, nice use of theme, rad song, decent difficulty that curves up at a reasonable pace, and an awesome title.

Good work!

iancarnevale says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:40am

Love the artwork and bow mechanic! Gameplay is a little bland. Overall enjoyable.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26am

Your tiles are gorgeous. Kind of wish there was no ceiling, when enemies get up there there isn't really anything I can do but wait. Made it to round 6 then when I had killed everything the next round didn't load. Lots of fun though, would've liked to play further.

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Cool game, nice graphics. Good take on the theme.
I got to round 4, really enjoyable.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Fun little game! I think it would be more interesting, if the bow would fire by itself, if you keep it drawer for too long. The music was a little weird but I heard far worse :)

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:21am

Fun little game with good graphics and right on theme. The only complaint might be the repetitive music which gets annoying after a while, but I get that making music is not easy, given the time limit.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Made it to round 3, all around solid entry.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Awesome art here and cool game

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:40am

Pretty nice game I think. The music is a little bit annoying over a while, but it really makes fun to shoot the enemies with the arrow. Would have been nice if the arrow stayed were I shot one enemy. The graphics are awesome and the theme too!

Several says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:51am

Round 3. The keyboard controls feel a little too tightly clustered--would be nice with a gamepad.

I think you've done a great job incorporating the theme into the mechanic--the one-arrow limit, the feel of the arrow, and the way the level defines the consequences, really make the game stand out from other jumpy-shooty entries. Also, the main character's art is wonderful. And the randomized elements of the rounds is a nice touch.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:15am

Very solid game playing experience right here. One of the better 'shoot once' games. Really love the graphics and the controls were very solid.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Nice idea! I found the jump a bit too fast, but it's a good experience! Good job!

Moist says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Amazing artwork. Quite fun to play too. Well done.

finefin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:22pm

looks and plays nice. also sticks to the theme. good work!

Xavier says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

Nice graphics. Pure fun platform. Only I've found the jump a bit faster.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Made it to round 3 :) Nice and lovely game. 4/5 for fun.

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Very cute pixel art. Jumping felt a little too fast, and I'm not crazy about the level design either, but the bow was quite fun to use. Overall, a fun little game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]