December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

LunchLadySimulator2000

by fysx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about cookies, righteousness, and well deserved punishment. Every day at lunch time the school kids get a cookie, following the golden rule: you only get one. However those pesky sneaky evil kids (as we all know them) however will try to get more than one. This outrageous evilness has to stop, and there is only one person with the power:

You, the Lunch Lady!

Punish those who are greedy, feed the needy.

Hint: you can punch students by swiping over their faces.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#83Humor3.54
#180Theme3.48
#245Audio3.00
#332Fun3.12
#399Innovation3.04
#451Graphics3.00
#491Overall3.00
#555Mood2.68

Comments

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26am

I can't seem to "slap" a student.

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34am

cool game, took me a bit to figure out how to punch them. This would make a good mobile game.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Haha! Good slap sound! :D

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Good game, but I think you have to move the mouse too far across to slap a student (diagonal slapping was slightly better)
I didn't like that sneaky students that I already gave a cookie to count as hungry students when they go offscreen.
I think the game should allow you to just avoid the sneaky arms that already got a cookie as a viable play style, and the slaps should just be for bonus points.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39am

Is it bad that I enjoyed slapping the students into oblivion? Very nice game! Very funny!

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:13am

couldnt slap with my trackpad, but when i connected with a mouse i finally figured it out. seems accurate.

fysx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:31pm

@YellowLime: many thanks for your remark! This is indeed a bug. I have uploaded a fixed version.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Apart from the slightly fast pace and how it's sometimes hard to slap the students, I don't really have any criticisms. Good job.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:25am

Nice fast paced game :D I really like to slap some sneaky thief students :D

gingerBill says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I cannot play the game on Mac OS X 10.9 as it is from a unidentified developer. But it's a very good game (on windows). Well paced and quite funny.

occash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:23pm

I can't open this game...please, make web version...

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Adrable little game, very original. My only complaint is that slapping is too hard, I can't get it to work most of the times. But anyway, well done.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Christ, I would not last long as a lunch lady. Too often I was SURE I had served a student so slapped them only to find out they were innocent. Oops.

Innovative idea :) Nice one

fysx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Thanks for the comments! Slapping is quite hard without a proper mouse, sorry for that.

Also slapping is unfortunately (or realistically?) way more fun than serving. Next game will be slapping only to fix this.

@occash: more info about the crash? I just tested Windows and Mac version and both seem fine and the Linux version is being used by both. So hard to guess what the problem might be.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Very funny; would be better if there was clearer instructions and also motivation for slapping the students (maybe if they are randomly overweight).

Ashtom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Couldn't figure out how to detect sneaky student and slap any of them. Fun ambiance though!

Cash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice idea but i found it too easy

fysx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Coblynau: making evil students overweight is a great idea! If I make a post-compo version this would definitely be a feature!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Really good game. Made me laugh. Clever take on the theme as well, very original. Great work!

Korwegian says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Crashed after a while, entities/student.lua:134: Attempt to use destroyed body. Game was fun but slapping was kinda hard.

zequack says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:32am

This game is pretty cool :D
Slapping is rather hard, but it's rather satisfying to teach some greedy kids a lesson x)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:42am

Haha nice game ;) Made me smile :P

StMatn says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Nice game!
Its a bit hard to control, but thats ok. As a mobile version this would be great, but it would need some sort quick to achieve goal.
Pretty funny, how the greedy kids are knocked out mercylessly :D
Great work :)

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:19pm

slapping people in the face is so much fun <3

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]