December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ONE - Obscured Nonphysical Expanse

by ChronusZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

|-IMPORTANT!-| |-IMPORTANT!-| |-IMPORTANT!-| |-IMPORTANT!-|

It IS possible to beat this game! In fact, you can beat it in about 15 seconds, if you know the route. The map is tiny (8x6 hallway pieces, IIRC), but feels much bigger. If you need a hint for finding the exit, look below (it's more fun to try it yourself first!)

Controls:
WASD - Move
Mouse - Look
Escape - Pause / Unlock mouse cursor

This game is dedicated to Nelios, without whom this game could never have been distributed (literally).


ONE is an ambient horror 3D first person puzzle game. In ONE, you traverse a maze of greyscale hallways and corridors that defy the laws of common geometry and space to find an escape.

Made in LWJGL/Java.

------------------------------------------------------------

Hint: not all solids are impermeable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#381Audio2.75
#588Graphics2.75
#640Innovation2.69
#981Overall2.11
#996Fun1.60
#1000Theme1.41
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

Dude, this should have been uploaded a while ago :/

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Yep. I'm a little too tired to care about the fact that I made something rather good and have no way to distribute it, though, thus I have essentially lost.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:29pm

This doesn't run for me :( I'm on Safari/Mac

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:53am

Also doesn't run for me - chrome/mac.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:14am

Quite interesting. Is there any point to it, though? Or do you just walk on forever? I lost interest and gave up after about 15 minutes.

I wish the draw distance was a little larger; I felt like I was chasing a white square the whole time.

Sound was eerie, but not very present.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

Played the windows version, I found the game intriguing from the screenshots, but actually playing it was a bit dull for me. I believe the structure of the maze itself may be interesting, but it's very hard to distinguish any specific section from another (I'm assuming intentionally). But this is also the problem I find with the game, I always felt lost, always, maybe with the exception of hitting a dead end and being like "finally! I have some point of reference".

There was a lot of wandering, a lot of squinting to see through the ever present fog (that gets fairly annoying after a while), and a lot of feeling like I was getting nowhere. I do remember one segment that did remind me of the game AntiChamber though, it seemed like an endless path, I walked straight for a while never seeing a side path. Then I decided to turn back and what do ya know, there was another path just a little walk behind me. "Interesting" I thought to myself.

I got to a point where I was getting some spooky noises that didn't quite mesh with the game's atmosphere and decided I didn't want to play anymore. Somewhat due to the fact that I expected a jump scare at any moment considering time constraints lead to things like that.

Call me a coward haha but I'm not much on being scared and hopeless in a foggy maze. It was a good try but the same wall patterns/fog and lack of feeling like I made any progress led to me leaving the game prematurely.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

Yes, actually, there is an end to it. And the map is quite puny, I'm glad it lasted so long :)

For the sake of checking, was the fog not blended for you? It may be a problem with some people's GPUs, but there should be blended distance fog and swirling floor fog. Also, the reason why it's so short is because 1) it's more eerie, and 2) it masks the fact that you're being teleported around.

I wanted to add more ambiance, but was a bit short on time and prioritized the visual effects above the audial ones.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36am

And @hoqjed, yes, most of the things were intentional, such as the repeated patterns and heavy fog. And I understand that horror isn't for everyone; I personally don't care much for the genre myself, but I wanted to try out making a game in the style. Would you mind explaining how the audio didn't mesh with the game? I'd like to know everything I did wrong so I can watch out for it in the future.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44am

Interesting game. The draw distance really need to be larger. Could also need any kind of objective. Simply adding a goal of any kind or have some clear progress happen would add a lot to the game.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:53am

Cool game. Ran well on my Windows 8 PC. I thought the sound was ok. I like horror games but confusion gets boring fast. Sorry. Still much better than alot of games on here!

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:57am

@tobbez, there is a goal, I know it's sort of ambiguous and I should've added something in game to say it, but your goal is to escape. The route to the end messes with your preconceived perceptions that the environment is necessarily solid :) [Is that too big of a hint? :D]

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35am

I had a really hard time with this and I couldn't really tell what was going on. At some point, I realized that I was being teleported, and that's when I gave up. I really like the ambiance and the sound, but I wish there were something in the game to give me an idea of what was happening.

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:52am

For me, this game kind of captured that feeling you get when you're in a dream, and you're trying to walk forward but you're not getting anywhere. The slow movement and the fog came together to make me really uneasy, which I think is what you're going for. The swirling fog effects weren't visible to me, so it looked more like a blinding light on my machine, which only added to the "fever dream" feel of it. For a game focusing on atmosphere, these aspects work well.

Also for something like this, a short game jam game is the way to go. If this lasted more than a few minutes, I don't think I could have taken it, but again, the length is good, and it sets the tone well.

My only gripe is the walking through the wall thing felt a little cheap. Sometimes games can get away with that, but yours wasn't long enough to set the precedent that the player should try such things. It might have been better if you had left this as being an "experience" and less of a puzzle, and just let the player walk out when they find the exit.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:56am

@302_Dave, that's a fair point. To be honest, the wall trick *was* a bit of a cop out on my part. I procrastinated the level design and wanted that in place to sort of make it feel a little bit long ;P

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I got a java class error

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:29am

My mouse moved the camera uncontrollable, so i wandered around while looking at the floor. I bumped in to a wall and it asked me if it was the end.

Avocado says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:10am

Well, I beat it...I think? I walked left and then through a wall and it gave me some kind of win message.

ChronusZ says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:49pm

@Avocado, yep, you beat it. Congratulations :D

Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Looks good, in a creepy way (the whitespaces at the end of my vision were a bit distracting, but I don't know whether there's a way to fix that), but it felt a bit empty, and I just solved it through trial and error.

I'm not very good at mapping areas in my head, so the non-Euclidean nature of the maze might be lost on me.

Very good audio.

Not really my kind of game, but still very good for the time frame.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]