December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Trigger

by Kabraxis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I can't believe I actually finished it!

External assets used:
Pixel Life font (William Clifford - http://www.williac.com)
Bitmap Font Pack (Marc Russell - www.spicypixel.net)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Graphics3.39
#633Overall2.83
#701Fun2.56
#746Innovation2.50
#933Theme1.94
#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26am

Looks great, just wasn't all that entertaining, the controls were different to those i have seen before. However this doesnt mean they were bad. Just.. different :P

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:16am

Controls were preventing me to enjoy the game more but I really loved the exploration part and the whole thinking whether I've been in the room that I can open using my last key of this color.

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I enjoyed ehile playing, liked the idea. And I suppose you have to open right doors to unlock every room becouse there I struck with blue key and there is no other blue door.

travislucia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Controls were a little strange, graphics aren't bad. Need a health bar once I realized I was invincible it seemed pointless.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37am

I liked the cool scan animation on player's visor.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I like the concept! But with an azerty keyboard is not easy :D

jonask says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:07pm

A bit wonky controls and boring enemies.

burlapjack says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Being somewhat familiar with twin-stick arcade games like Robotron, I didn't have too much trouble with the controls. I liked the art, especial the title at the beginning. The bullet animation was also neat. Sound would have really made this game kick-butt in my opinion.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:47am

Why the bullets don't go straight ?

Alex Higgins says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:54am

Got to a point where I ran out of keys and couldn't open any new doors. It's really tricky to design a level so that that doesn't happen - I'm impressed that I hadn't gotten toward that point earlier in play.
With no real way to predict enemy behavior and dodge projectiles, combat was fairly bland - combat outcome was not dependent upon tactics or skill. The decision between rate of fire and damage seemed meaningless - both yield higher damage per second.
I still really enjoyed the "metagame," though. Even though the smaller, low-level mechanics were weak, it was still a fun overall experience. The reason that I'm being so critical is because this has the potential to be really cool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]