December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

.one.

by Macroz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

.one. is a simple puzzle game. You only have one thing to do, choose the .one.

.one. is implemented in JavaScript using AngularJS and HTML5 Canvas for rendering. There are no graphics, but the sounds are generated with Bfxr.

This time I didn't have much time so the game is implemented in about six hours. The theme was not very inspiring to me. I came up with the looks first, and then while thinking of interesting rules, remembered the old Hunt the Wumpus game. The rules of .one. are similar to it. There is no end, it would be nice to add more interesting variation and not just expand the playing area.

Check out the source code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#455Innovation2.97
#469Theme2.93
#564Graphics2.80
#623Audio2.22
#713Mood2.45
#857Fun2.30
#868Overall2.50

Comments

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I think I'm stupid because I couldn't get this to do anything

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00am

I like the minimalistic/flat style! Even though, the game is soo hard! :D Still stuck at the first level hehe! :p

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

seems cool, will revisit in a couple days. Not sure how to progress past the first stage

Macroz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

I tested with my Android phone and it seems touchscreen doesn't quite work. If you can't pass the first level, try a desktop browser to see if it makes a difference.

I'll see later if I can patch the game to work at least on the tablets (it would be quite difficult to play with small screen size).

TheSnide says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59am

I'm not fond of puzzle games, but this one hooked me for a while as I'm a HUGE fan of minimalistic games :)

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Nice idea, not really sure what to do however

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:59pm

I like your screenshot, but I too wasnt sure how to play your game. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/0DcB_uEEmYE

Kohijin says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Sorry, would have loved to try this (played a lot of Wumpus back in the day), but I could not figure out what to do except clicking the giant square

xrm0 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Can't figure out how to play

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Hint: . means short click, - means long click :)

Muciojad says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Original and minimalistic, really cool game. At first I didn't know what to do, but after I get the "flow" :D Nice!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Took a while to work out the rules but I absolutely loved the minimalistic style. Game gets incredibly fun once you get the hang of it.

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I found hard to understand at the begining, but when I did the "click" then I couldn't stop to get going. Great work :-D

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:40pm

I would be nice to see a full map after you complete/fail a level. Would have made it easier to figure out the rules initially. Love nice simple puzzle games.

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:41pm

I got to level 2, not sure what I did on level 1 to progress. On level 2 I managed to click on some blocks that disappeared and some that turned my color. There seems to be at least one death-block, but I'm not sure what to do with it because if I click so I only have my color blocks, remove the ones I can and I'm left with a single grey block. If I click it I die. If I don't nothing happens. In other words. I think you need to include clear instructions about the rules and strategies of the game. Otherwise it seemed like a nice puzzle, a bit reminiscent of minesweeper.

Orangy Tang says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I have no idea how to play this I'm afraid, sorry. :(

I just get a single square that makes an explosion noise and no feedback or anything. Perhaps it doesn't work on my machine?

loxo says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Interesting game concept. It took me a while to figure out how to play and managed to get to level 5, but I'm not entirely sure if I do everything the right way. So I think your game would really benefit from a tutorial.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:13pm

I couldn't get past the first level i think!

jprogman says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:13pm

It would have been nice to have instructions on how to play this game. Eventually, I think I got the idea. This plays like "Minesweeper." You click squares to find the pink squares that surround a secret red square which you DO NOT click. There are also light blue tiles that surround blue tiles. The blue tiles (imo) just resets the current level. I guess that's there to make life difficult.

Nice "Minesweeper" like game, but it needs more stuff to keep the fun. Another thing, find a way to keep the red square from being the only block at the beginning of each round.

Macroz says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:37am

Thanks for the comments!

The very first level with only one block is intended to be the tutorial. And the only instructions required are on the page itself. It's interesting to see how difficult the puzzle game became because of them :)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:34pm

I admit it took me far too long to figure out what to do on the first level, seeing as held-down-clicks are uncommon in flash games. But once I figured out the mechanic, I really enjoyed the following levels. I think you did an astonishing job creating such a complete experience in just six hours! The graphics and sound are minimal but everything fits and is pleasant to look at and satisfactory to click on. Could do with more levels and better affordances for the player to understand what is going on, but overall a great, fun little game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]