December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Our Man, Dragon

by scoopsy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fly around and burn the nasty orks before they kill all the villagers! You are their only hope!

Keyboard moves, space breathes fire. The game is effectively over when all your villagers are dead

Aside from that, adding no more features sadly! Will upload a post-compo version with more though, that includes death (so that villagers can respawn) and cleaning out old, burned entities. Perhaps an exit screen, ha!

Oh, only the OSX and Web releases have been tested. Sorry, no Windows or Linux machines around!

If you want to try the non-Compo not-for-judging WIP build of Our Man, Dragon, go to https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/159702451/our-man-dragon-latest/our-man-dragon-latest.html. A number of balance / fixes have been made and more are in progress.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#409Humor2.45
#607Graphics2.72
#627Innovation2.72
#637Fun2.67
#754Overall2.69
#756Mood2.38
#865Theme2.16
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:56am

They game was fun and had nice details loved the auto spawning. Endless fun of fire.

Ysty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Nice idea. I love the blocky designs of everything.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09pm

The idea is great. Was fun to play for a short while but got pretty repetetive.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16pm

A fun idea, good controls, and a cool Darwinia aesthetic! The engine is all there - it just needs player feedback and balancing to bring it home.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Who knew burning everything could so much fun, the game is far from complete but this is a lot you can do with this. You may want to check their growth, I noticed some slowdown when the map was covered in purple guys. Great work!

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Nice physics!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:12am

Oh god, what wouldn't I give to have one of these dragons during LoTR games! Haha! Cool concept, when do we see more?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:51pm

The spawn rate of the enemies is pretty out of control. But I think this is a pretty cool idea. I enjoy your usage of the unity primitive objects.

Lissar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:27am

Fire seemed to move a bit more slowly than one might expect!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:27am

Woah! Im a powerful dragon! Great idea! We try to get our version for OSX soon!

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:28am

Would love to see more of this game!

madlee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:29am

Nice idea, though it soon became unplayable for me due to out-of-control spawning.

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:34am

I couldn't protect the village. It seemed like I only had a little time to burn the first orc camp before the next few spawned, and if I tried to burn the orcs, I would set the village on fire. Then the villagers died, the orcs stopped attacking, but the game didn't tell me I lost.

This could be really fun if it felt more finished. I think if the dragon was faster, the orcs were further away, and there was a way to attack without causing friendly fire, it could be a great game.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:26am

THATCH-ROOFED COTTAGES!!!</trogdor>

This game SO needs some kind of metal soundtrack. The only other thing I'd like to suggest is having the dragon point towards the orcs at the onset...somehow I mistook the village for my target. ^_^;

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:06pm

This is a good idea but the lack of audio, or any indication of success/failure is a downer. It seems like the enemy camps spawn really fast. I think a polished post-compo version could be really fun, though!

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:36am

I just didn't get this. The fire seemed to do nothing, even when I did manage to set the orcs on fire, the orc huts spawned constantly, including inside of the villager huts, and they wiped the villagers out in a matter of seconds, and being that I can't do anything to them, there really was no point in me being present.

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:46am

Cool idea! The spawn rate seems a bit quick, though.

cardboard says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:06am

There is no hope for the villagers at the current ork spawn rate. :p I played the updated version and you seem to be on the right track. I think the dragon should turn, and possibly move, a bit faster. The graphics are nice and simple.

Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:23am

Cool game :) The graphics are well done, I was reading your post and I totally agree with you, even a simple graphic idea can take a lot of time to draw ;) The gameplay/mechanic is interesting, great work !

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:09pm

good idea, but the game it starts to go very slow over time

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:03pm

This seriously needed better control over the dragon. And balance, the orc spawning rate is too high! though that's an issue with the time restraints, so it's ok. The orcs...it was really hard to tell which ones you had already killed. And wuh...why did they spawn right in the village!? My poor villagers ;_;
Anyways, had fun playing this xD!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]