December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cowboy Conundrum

by floorman - Jam Entry

WARNING: This is our first Ludum Dare and the Programmers' first time using Unity to this degree, be gentle!



Cowboy Conundrum is a split-screen, old west, multiplayer dueling game where two cowboys have a standoff. However, instead of pistols at dawn, the weapons of choice are comically over-sized bombs that require both hands to wield.

So, with the theme of "You only get one bomb" (and therefore only one chance to get your enemy), we present: Cowboy Conundrum! Fun for you and one friend!

Disclaimer: Game is co-op only and requires a keyboard and XBOX gamepad to play. Additional friend not included.

The team is:
------------
Unity / Programming:
James "Swiss" Michael
Zack Dutton
Dan Moody

Animation:
Ted Turnbull
Christian Brindley
Zack Dutton

Art:
Charlie Scrimshaw
Philippe Bintner

Sound:
Tom Daly

Special thanks to:
Peter Akrill
Christian Brindley
and Southampton Solent University

Known Bugs / Issues:
--------------------
+ No Win-con.
+ No death (#NoKill?).
+ Animation clipping.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#283Humor(Jam)2.29
#309Graphics(Jam)3.06
#407Theme(Jam)2.35
#432Audio(Jam)2.00
#461Mood(Jam)2.24
#501Overall(Jam)2.35
#502Fun(Jam)2.00
#517Innovation(Jam)2.00
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

Definitely shows promise. Keep it up!

reecpj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Was pretty good until we discovered you can't actually win. the game kind of lost its magic after that...

occash says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I don't understand rules, but for first game it's not bad)

Gerjj says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:00am

I can see the idea behind it - maybe consider working on it a bit more and make a playable game! Great work for first timers

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:01am

Hey, the visuals are great! But it just seems very unfinished, maybe try a less ambitious game next time? I always say quality over quantity :).

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:10am

Visuals are great!

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:38am

If you used Unity, why not publish it for platforms besides Windows? I'd love to play it if you put it on mac or web.

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:17am

Looking good, keep it up!

bttf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:10am

Ah wish I could play this!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:31am

good

ThisGameSucks says ...
May 30, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Seriously broken and unplayable. 0/10 Suicide Worthy

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]