December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

N . D

by davisan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help Jack find a valuable hidden treasure.


In level 3 and 4, to use the bombs press the 'R' key, but it's not totally functional.

Postcompo ver:
1) Fixed a bug in the double jump after release the rope
2) The camera is now restricted to the game area.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#85Audio3.50
#265Fun3.23
#268Overall3.29
#270Mood3.12
#284Graphics3.35
#474Humor2.29
#610Innovation2.74
#656Theme2.59

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

Once again your art is spectacular!
Mechanics are really cool but only thing is the ropegun doesn't fire in-air.
And am I hallucinating or are the levels procedurally generated?
I did get stuck in one level where the exit may have spawned in a disconnected chamber, but other than that it plays very well!

davisan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Thanks!
Initially the ropegun fired in-air, but I changed because of a bug. I'll fix this, I think this is permitted but the rules, right?.
Yes the levels are procedurally generated. I think I'll post a post-compo ver with an infinite mode. :D

Venturelli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Very playable entry, I love grappling hooks :D

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:00pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZjqwivH4Wg
Recorded my first impressions while playing it :)

davisan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

@Venturelli: Thanks!
@DanielSnd: Thanks for the feedback! I'll solve the issues in a postcompo ver. :D

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:46am

Nice game you have here, you fix the controls in the last build and the game changed a lot to me.

errorage says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I really like the setting, atmosphere, music and graphics.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Okay if feel that this was really EXCELLENT. You set up a back-story about a whole different world, and designed those cool gfx and grappling hook in 48 hours! *applauds*
The soundtrack is top-notch. And the grappling hook, man that was a LOAD of fun! Most of the time I was travelling like spiderman, hanging from the ceiling xD
The with the backstory and music, you've created a really good feel to it. Simply amazing.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:17pm

This has a good feel to it. The ropegun is a good way of getting around a level.

Several says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:45am

A nice mix of platforming abilities here. Just moving around (mixing the abilities) feels good at times. The limited visual range is kind of frustrating, though; it feels like you could zoom out 2-4x and have a more playable game.

The levels felt too randomly/arbitrarily arranged (among other things, seeing the pickups sitting above large stretches of lava more often than not seemed clumsy), but maybe zooming out would improve some of that. Might tweak the generative algorithm either way, aiming for more of a coherent or deliberate or at least player-conscious end result.

The graphics are a bit of a mix. Some things are quite pleasant (like the fog / smoke), while other things (like the lack of edging on the ground tiles, or the size ratios between blocks, player, and collectibles) seem crude.

I liked that my health refilled between rooms, but not that my bombs were apparently removed.

It's a great start. I'd like to check out the post-compo version later. For now, though: many other entries to examine.

Nichii says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Great game! But dayum, I hate the deceleration of the speed... I kept falling off :(

mtrc says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:41am

Wow, you got a lot implemented in a short space of time! Loved the mechanics.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:42am

This is really well made. I love the rope swing mechanic. Awesome graphics and sound as well. Brilliant work, well done.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:41pm

parabens. ha problemas na jogabilidade, mas em geral eh bem legal. parabens mesmo!

davisan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Thanks guys for the kind words and the feedback. :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:30am

It was fun

porglezomp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:59am

Looks really nice! I like the story and you art especially. Sometime though, the rope didn't behave like I wanted it to. (Maybe it doesn't work in midair or something, in any case... ) the rope felt inconsistent at times.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I didn't like the controls so much, but the story in the beginning was good and set a great mood.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Really impressive work for 48 hours! :)

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:20pm

great moves and immersive level design!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Pretty good game. I liked the use of the ropegun and the introduction screen at the beginning established a really nice mood.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:51pm

One of the bet entries I tried! ;D
Well done!

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:16am

A rather enjoyable experience.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]