December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

VOXELTRONIC

by mungoman1 - Jam Entry

Well, here's my jam entry! I think it turned out perfectly, this is pretty much exactly what I'd planned it to be!

The goal of the game is to make it to Wave 25 without being hit in your weak spot even once. Because you only get one(per game)! In order to survive the increasingly dangerous onslaughts of death, your tiny little cube has the capability to pick up cubes dropped by your fallen enemies it order to construct itself armor and more weapons. The green blocks take 1 hit, and the red blocks have the added capability of throwing even more lasers at your enemies!

Controls:
Mouse = steers/aims
Left mouse click = fire your lasers
w/a/s/d = movement
Left Shift = turbo speed!

!!WARNING!!
This game is extremely difficult and may induce rage-quitting!

So, tell me what you think and report any miscellaneous bugs!
UPDATE! Still not technically post-jam because, well, the jam's not over yet! I made the controls quite a bit tighter and made aiming slightly easier.

Music Credits go to Szymon Matuszewski
and
"Joe Reynolds - Professorlamp @ jrtheories.webs.com "

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Innovation(Jam)3.67
#47Graphics(Jam)4.29
#54Overall(Jam)3.75
#62Audio(Jam)3.65
#70Mood(Jam)3.57
#99Fun(Jam)3.38
#321Theme(Jam)2.63
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

vrld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06am

Graphics and sounds are fantastic. The feeling reminds me of Virus 2000 somehow (though that is a totally different game). However, the controls are a little weird and make it hard to actually play the game (it took five tries to get to wave 2, highest I got before quitting was wave 5).
Still, good game overall!

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

Very cool, but the gameplay needs some clarification. It's very easy to instantly die!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47am

This is so so so so so cool. It's really hard and really confusing to find myself and to shoot things, but it's awesome. When I realized I could get the blocks like that my jaw dropped! Got only to wave 3 though...

Really nice entry (best one I've played so far).

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47am

This is awesome! so much juice and color and it made me feel a little motion sick... its awesome :D

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49am

Great looking game, nice jamming sounds, gets those controls tighter (and a bit clearer) and this could be great.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Amazing work! Once I figured out the movement and controls I had a bunch of fun. The weapons are awesome to fire, and I love the amount of colour and sweet sound effects that are involved.

canary40 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

I liked the graphic effects. Two small things I noticed were that the sfx were much louder than the music, perhaps just on my speakers, and the wait time between deaths is quite long. The controls were a bit hard to use. I liked the eating voxel mechanic, even though I just had a massive clump in front. haha

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18am

Top score just for the title screen alone.

Seriously though, the controls definitely took getting used to, but this game is awesome, gorgeous, and plenty fun. How you did this in 48 hours I'll never know.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43am

Brilliant!! Top marks for innovation!
This is definitely something I'll keep playing! I still couldn't stay alive very long right now...

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06am

The graphics and sounds are very good, and the idea is fantastic! But the controls are kinda iffy.

I really want to PLAY this game (I love the idea of breaking down your enemies and assembling yourself), but I couldn't get past Wave 1.

I think maybe the mouse control needs to be more precise? (I felt that it drifted a bit too much), or maybe add a cursor so that we know which direction we are moving/aiming.

Thanks for the game!

(BTW, I played it on Wine, but since you seem to be using Unity, why not a linux build as well?)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Cool retro vibe and great graphics. I found it extremely difficult to aim without a targeting reticle. Also the shooting noise is unbearably annoying.

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Beautiful game! Works in WINE, sounds are really fitting too, and it's pretty darn difficult!

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Thanks for all the positive comments everybody! I entered it as a jam game so I can probably do a little tweaking on the controls after my regular job today!

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Loved it! The graphics and audio were great and I enjoyed collecting the blocks the enemies dropped (though I got too confident and died at wave 6!). Very well done!

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:42am

Amazing visuals. Best I've seen so far. It's hard to imagine implementing all of that in such a short time

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Epic! You MUST try it with occulust rift! =D

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Love the sound and graphics. Gameplay could use some work thou. I died instantly the first time I played.

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:13am

Now this is a good example of a great LD game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]