December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A shark ate your other oar: A game made in one hour.

by Sestren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You've only got one oar to make it to the dock!
I've only got one hour (technically one and a half hours) to make a game!

Story
A shark ate your other oar!
You'll have to paddle to the dock with your only remaining oar. Without two oars, most of your momentum will go into spinning your boat, so you have to switch which side the oar is on in order to keep moving forward.
Avoid the shark and make it to safety!

Controls
Use the arrow keys to control your boat:
Left Arrow: Puts your oar on the left side of your boat.
Right Arrow: Puts your oar on the right side of your boat.
Up Arrow: Paddle forward.
Down Arrow: Paddle backward.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#113Theme3.63
#173Humor3.14
#427Innovation3.00
#512Audio2.48
#602Mood2.62
#630Fun2.68
#779Overall2.65
#843Graphics2.17

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

not fun, but I love the mechanics. makes sense cause I doubt swimming away from sharks is any fun. In short, I think you managed to convey the appropriate mood!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15am

I like the theme ties and the gameplay is alright. With more levels/obstacles, this could be a pretty fun game!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00am

I actually really like this! It has an amusing atmosphere and mood in a weird sort of way.

As WhoaConstrictor said, more levels / obstacles and this would be a really fun little game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Haha I had to play this with 2 hands. Instead of clicking to replay could you add it so I can press enter or space?

I like the controls and do think this could definitely be developed into a longer game with more levels and bits

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

One hour huh? Not too shabby! (actually, it's super tough to do one hour game jams, so really, nice work)

supremefist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:08am

Well done! That was hilarious and fun! You're good!

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Ahaha, fun. You could build on this idea.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:59pm

haha wow this is pretty good for only a little more than a hour. Pretty solid gameplay, could have been something greater with more time.

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Good for something made in an hour. This could be really interesting with a bit more time put into it!

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:38am

Kinda fun, really short. It was easier once I found out you could paddle forwards. I don't think it's a good idea to let the shark kill you as soon as the game runs. There should be a small safe zone to let the player figure out the controls.

ehtd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:43am

Too short, but nice mechanics

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:46am

The constraint of 1.5 hours must have been very challenging. You may not have come up with this clever idea without it. Its interesting to think about. That type of constraint might make for an interesting game jam.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:37am

Awwww This game is GENIOUS! So simple yet so fun and creative :) I'm in love with it! Fantastic Job A+ ^^

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:37am

Awwww This game is GENIUS! So simple yet so fun and creative :) I'm in love with it! Fantastic Job A+ ^^

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Not bad for one hour of work! Would have liked some more realistic paddeling though. If the boat had some more realistic velocity, it would also become more difficult, which in turn would have made it more interesting for me.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:15am

Short game, but the idea is a nice one.

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Wow, impressive for one and a half hour.
Couldn't you have made it even quicker by just rotating one graphic in stead of making a few keyframes?
I like how you used the theme, clever idea.

Sestren says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:24am

I definitely could have shaved off several minutes that way, but I wanted to avoid the anti-aliasing effect that would come from that and wanted to go for a "pure Atari" look. Then I remembered Flixel/AS3 had a low-quality graphics setting that would take care of it for me. Doh.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Short game, nice job! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/iZspNc9Kmjk

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Pretty easy once you get used to the controls but still a fun game. Could do with some challenges like more sharks and even mines.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]