December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ursa Miner

by Will Edwards - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Although it looks simple, under the hood there's some pretty tricky code, and I'm really pleased shooting real holes in meshes! Check out the jaw-dropping DEV VIDEO!!!

Being an asteroid gemstone miner in Ursa Minor is really really hard work, what with zero G and only as much oxygen as you can carry!

Luckily, it has it perks; like the "vapouriser" cannon for getting at hard-to-reach gemstones embedded in the rock!

INSTRUCTIONS:::

Always make sure you can find your way back to the airlock where you started before you suffocate!

1. fly around using WASD and ARROW keys

2. fly into gemstones to collect them

3. use the vapouriser to liberate gemstones embedded in rock

4. diamonds = 1000 pts, rubies 500 and emeralds 200

5. keep an eye on how much oxygen you have left

6. you only get the one bottle of oxygen...

7. always track where the airlock was so you can get back in time!

...

17. PROFIT !!!



----

My first solo entry, using my own javascript webGL framework barebones.js.

The vapouriser uses csg.js (which I've made some performance tuning to; 3-5x faster generally). See the dev video or use the javascript console to look at the 'debug' object to get an idea of how computationally intensive shooting the vapouriser is!

I'm not musical I'm afraid. So sound effects from BFXR, and its my own server so I'm trying to keep the bandwidth down a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#276Innovation3.24
#451Graphics3.00
#545Mood2.69
#559Overall2.94
#710Audio1.85
#713Humor1.78
#768Fun2.44
#820Theme2.27

Comments

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

The controls took some getting used to, otherwise it was pretty entertaining. I was confused as to what I was doing, but that's my fault because I didn't read the instructions.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30am

Need more optimization for web...but fun never the less

wombatica says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11am

Like it!! Love the deforming terrain. Plays fine on my laptop. Everything could be tweaked and further improved but that's 48hrs and one guy....
Good sound effects, pity you didn't have time to learn to generate music.

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I got Error: could not load ui.js ?

ittlebit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41pm

The deforming terrain was pretty cool, Very minimal.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I'm very impressed! Really amazing that you were able to do so much on so little time. Good luck!

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Graphics are awesome!
But the game experience wasn't so great... reversed up and down really confused me and when you put some tiny lag above that...
The mood is well set, but the game could use some music.
Good job!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:40pm

@Gaspard_ thank you :)

I actually asked on the LD IRC minutes before I submitted, and most people there said they wanted me to *swap* the up/down... To what it is now! I can't win.

The lag is because Constructive Solid Geometry is a performance hog and this game needs a powerful CPU and GPU to keep up. Optimising it would be worthy of a thesis assignment ;)

Glad you liked it though.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

The link appears to be down... :(

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58am

I couldn't resist the blocks when I saw this in the screenshots :D I love the simple art style, runs fine on my laptop. Excellent work!

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49am

Ursa miner gives a nice Descent feeling (good job on that), but it doesn't really feel like a finished game. Here are my main points (in case you want to develop this further - please do!):

1) Add an arrow to point to the airlock (like in Freespace). It's really hard to find it using the XYZ coordinates in the upper left corner alone.
2) Better feedback, e.g.screenshake when firing the vaporizer, particle effec when collecting gems, oxygen bar instead of a number, stuff like that.
3) Background - less black (dark greyish blue could work) and maybe add a few stars
4) Afterburner!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:14am

It's a great idea. I found the collision detection on the gems frustrating.

Some background music would add a lot to the atmosphere.

And some way of finding the airlock again. :-)

ahimsa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33am

Really fun, I love this type of Descentesque free flying games and it's always a bonus if you get to shoot something while at it.

Ysty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Once I got a handle on the controls it was great. I love the aesthetic.

lubos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Shooting holes is indeed awesome! And once you get used to controls you don't mind them at all. Nice experience overall.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05pm

It's going to be great when this sort of fully destructible terrain can be run on top of a more complex game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50pm

This game is very interesting ! Amazing job :)

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Wow quite impressive for a html5 game. It was fun to explore the universe, and going full speed between those blocks is a nice feeling :)

Revert Y axis would have been nice.

After playing for a while started to lag (firefox).

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Very cool idea but I couldn't move and crasehd into blocks... Think it is a problem with my Keyboard :(

Ashtom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:05pm

A bit choppy (maybe I have a low config) but fun and somewhat immersive. I wish I could identify what the airlock looks like.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Technically, super impressive. The player was too hard to control, though, and the collision box for picking up gems was way too small. Also really, really hard to find the airlock again, even when you make an effort not the stray too far from it - maybe making the asteroids around it the same color or just leaving some empty space around it would be helpful? You did a great job of conveying the sense of fear, confusing, and paranoia one would have doing this job alone in space, though!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:15pm

@Ashtom you start in one. Its always at 0,0,0. If you start the level and fly a little bit forward, you can then swing around and take a look at it. And keep remembering where it is at all times; if you fly away wildly and enjoy the immersion, you'll never find your way back!

And yeah its a polygon hog however simple it looks. Please watch the dev video :)

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Really cool abstract art. My computer had a hard time keeping up, but other than that this was a very interesting game.

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I liked that you can actually shoot holes into everything. But the forward velocity was way too sensitive. I pushed forward a couple thousand miles of space, got hopelessly lost, and then managed to get stuck in a hole that I just dug into something. That was fun :D

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Very fascinating mechanic with the boring holes in things. Unfortunately it was too slow on my computer.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:44am

Super laggy, unintuitive controls. The vaporizer *is* pretty cool though, I saw that development video when you posted it and was looking forward to trying it out.

Demo Effect: The Game, I guess.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:03am

The left and right button appear to just cause barrel rolls (web player on a mac), so I dunno if I'm just not getting it or what.

drnick says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:52pm

dat Goldeneye controllers. Nice atmosphere. - notdrnick
PS: drnick has a shitty computer and is sorry for not being able to play this game

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:25pm

needs some optimization, but the idea is very good

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Technically impressive but a bit too slow in my browser to play at a decent framerate.

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Very technically accomplished and an interesting concept. I liked the feeling of flying through the unusual space and exploring around, though it didn't run particularly well on my ageing rig...

Broxxar says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Not quite sure I got it, but this is pretty awesome. Honestly just flying through the procedural terrain was awesome, not really sure how the vaporiser or oxygen mechanics played a part. Aside from not running at 60 fps, this looks great.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Amazing work ! Really interesting to see what can be done with .js
Very cool to mine into the rock!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:28pm

First i thought something was wrong with the game or the browser, then i got how it worked. I liked it, but it was hard.
very impressively made considering the short time.

atony says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:15pm

The link is down :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]