December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sophie's World

by SiENcE - Jam Entry

'Sophie's World' is a game for kids and thier reflexes. But not only for kids :).

Protect the happy cloud SOPHIE from her enemies by clicking
on the DARK CLOUDS to stop them from making her cry.

FRED is a Stone.
But watch out: Every day FRED has to catch the one and only raindrop to cooldown from the heat of the sun! If you don't catch the raindrop, the water level rises.

Hint: Stones can't breath under water!

It's getting harder from day to day...to save SOPHIE.

Controls
-----------
'left' mouse button - stop angry clouds and save SOPHIE

cursorkeys or 'w,a,s,d' - move FRED

Notice
--------
Chrome: You can use the Nacl-LOVELINESS extension:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/l%C3%B6veliness/mompnkcmpbopandjnddeecgeeojegohc

The WebGL Version is bestviewed with Firefox/Safari. Chrome does not repeat the music.

Actually it was meant as touch game and i ported it to Vita for the kids. You can watch the video.

Credits
---------
* Florian - code, sounds
* Marina - art, music

Made in LOVE 0.8.0 - Love2D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#202Humor(Jam)2.59
#315Mood(Jam)2.77
#323Audio(Jam)2.67
#387Theme(Jam)2.39
#407Graphics(Jam)2.68
#478Overall(Jam)2.45
#485Fun(Jam)2.18
#490Innovation(Jam)2.17

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55am

Very cute. I like the graphics and the music! This game seems fantastic for a younger audience!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01am

Thanks. Yes, it's indeed meant for younger players :).

TaleLore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40pm

The sun beam on the background graphic was a nice touch. Also btw I go to the next level regardless of whether or not I catch the tear.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:43pm

@TaleLore: Yes. If you don't catch the raindrops, the water is rises every day a bit more. If there is enough water to push Fred under water the also game ends.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Such a happy game with cute characters. :) Really liked the music. And the sun beams look fantastic!
Got a little bit repetetive after some levels, but as other commenters said, it fits well for a younger audience.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

This kept me playing longer then I expected.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:35am

I think my version was bugged? The water level didn't rise, it just .. if I didn't catch one tear it would go way over my head almost instantly and game over. I played the Windows version. It's a cute little game with fantastic music and atmosphere, I imagine young kids would love it - but I have to admit I played longer than I thought I would as well.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I like the dark clouds very much, they look very cute and funny :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:42pm

This is such a nice game. It was a lot of fun and a good use of the theme.

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:59pm

sweet. error occurred on chrome after playing for some time:

error during love.update(0.017) : Error: Invalid range : Error: Invalid range at lua_libs.math.random (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:2028:15) at lua_rawcall (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:1289:17) at lua_tablegetcall (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:1305:12) at eval (eval at lua_load (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:35:21), :930:93) at lua_rawcall (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:1289:17) at lua_call (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:1320:12) at lua_mcall (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:1338:10) at eval (eval at lua_load (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:35:21), :966:43) at lua_rawcall (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:1289:17) at lua_call (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:1320:12) at lua_mcall (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:1338:10) at eval (eval at lua_load (http://sience.schattenkind.net/ld28/js/lua-parser.js:35:21), :1272:42)

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Ok :-/. Please try another version. I will disable the WebGL version for now, until i fixed it.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:05pm

The WebGL Version works with Firefox & Safari. Chrome has a bug in repeating the music.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Very contemplative. Very cute :). A little bit dull and easy on the gameplay side, but at least there was a nice track of music to listen to!

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Cute idea and nice turn on the theme!
I like the graphics!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:53am

Cute. Wish I had a 4-5 year old around to watch them play, as I found it pretty easy. What is Fred? a cup? Seemed like left/right would've been enough input, moving up and down didn't seem to add anything.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:01am

Good solid effort in pretty much all categories. One suggestion I have is to add some cute sound effects. e.g. When a raindrop falls on the rock, you hear a hiss and an 'aaaahhhhhhh' sound. Things like that show kids that the rock is hot. Well done.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:00pm

It's a good idea to create a game with no violence :D

ittlebit says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Seems like a perfect match for the audience you shot for. More sounds and maybe more interactive effects would take this a long way!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Cute little game, with sweet graphics and nice, melancholic music. I can imagine it working wonders for kids on a tablet.

Good job! :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Lovely music. Gameplay is a little basic and the controls are a little slippery.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:56am

Controls are a bit fiddly - at least on the WebGL version. I'd be surprised if a younger player would be able to master it, at least in that format.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice graphics, kids should love them!
Music is nice but a bit too short. Sound FX could be smoother.
You should add a few more animations (like when Fred gets the water drop or when a dark cloud is stopped).

hadesfury says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Lovely and cute !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]