December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shovel Master

by DBRalir - Jam Entry

Shovel Master!

You are are a skilled treasure hunter, exploring various areas in search of gold.

Collect at least 50 gold to pay for travel to the next area, but you only get one minute!

Arrow keys to move, spacebar to dig.

Dev Team:

5-cent BAZOOKA - Designer
Aarithian - Artist
Ben "Juicy" Olson - Artist
Chume - Programmer
DBRalir - Programmer, Designer
Reginald Simmons - Musician

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#200Audio(Jam)3.09
#255Humor(Jam)2.39
#333Fun(Jam)2.69
#353Theme(Jam)2.50
#367Mood(Jam)2.63
#386Graphics(Jam)2.76
#394Overall(Jam)2.79
#416Innovation(Jam)2.41

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23am

pretty fun!

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53am

I like the art style and music - the game play is a little rough, it's very hard to get those coins in time!

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07am

Neat game and good work on the sprite graphics. This reminds me a lot of the shoveling mini game in Zelda: A Link to the Past for the SNES.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I liked the games concept. But the art looks a little rushed somehow. Maybe you shouldn't cut the edges of the playfield like that, and try to make some different sprites, which you can randomly use on trees and such. The shoveling animation was pretty smooth thou

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05pm

That was really fun, simple and fun. Also, the music was very cool.

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08pm

The music is arcadey and cool. the graphics could use some work. The game felt too much luck based and I'm not sure if it was specific to me but the objective didn't feel clear until I got a game over.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

There doesn´t really seem to be any skill involved in playing this game, it´s all luck.

The presentation is nice.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice game!
The music and graphics are really cool.
I really like the look and animation of the treasure hunter :)

After the second level I thought "Well...I got 60 gold and have 20 seconds left. I will lose my money anyway, so... lets chill and just wait for the next level." Then the game tells me, my score is 200 and I instantly regret my lazyness :D

Great game!

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Very nice. Do love the retro feel and look to the gameplay. Can so envisage playing this on the SNES

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I installed windows on virtual machine just to play this game :)

DBRalir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Thanks for the comments, guys! We were really rushed, and weren't able to add everything we wanted.

Expect a post-compo version!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Nice game! Really addictive :D

WojWorks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:07am

It's a bit of a guessing game, but it's fun enough.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:30am

fun gamee

Croze says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Felt too random, it was pretty much press space and move as much as possible. Good idea though, and looked nice.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:02pm

You should make the digging faster and add some kind of meaningful decision to the gameplay, e.g. hints where to dig, enemies to avoid or so. In the moment, it's just luck. I like the background music and the sound effects!

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:43pm

The execution is pretty good (graphics, sound, music, controls), but I'm not a big fan of the gameplay -- it seems like there aren't any interesting decisions for the player to make, and whether you win or lose seems to be pretty much luck.

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:20pm

I agree with what's been said; it's an awesome execution but the gameplay itself is too boring and random.

I really liked the music!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]