December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Word

by Jojo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a text adventure where you only get one word descriptions.

You are a writer, alone in your cottage in the woods.
You're looking for your dog.

Made in Javascript. Instructions are in the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#384Innovation3.06
#407Theme3.06
#596Fun2.72
#690Overall2.78
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:28am

I love text base adventure and use only one word is pretty cool concept.

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06am

Cool concept, needed further tuning to make it addicting and encapturing.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Nice text based adventure. Would be nice if it had some backstory to each room.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29am

That's awesome that you used jsfiddle for this.

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07pm

I liked it very much. It was a lot of fun. But because on the left there was the source code i cheated a bit xD. But very good. I just didnt like the font. But its the best game i played so far for ludum dare :)

FrostPhoenix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I liked your game a lot. I think it needs a little bit of polishing, however the concept is very cool.

5elephants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I never thought I'd see a game hosted on JSFiddle! Although original, the game didn't manage to catch my attention... I think that the "one word" restriction and the lack of visuals don't help at all.

Fervir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52pm

If there were any more rooms than what you had, I would have had to bust out a pencil and paper to draw maps.
The gameplay mechanic was pretty neat and simple and effective.
Good job!

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Making each command a single word speeds up the text adventure a ton and makes it easy to navigate and memorize. Very fun entry.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Pretty cool concept. I like the fast paced nature of the game, but also the adventure elements. I wish there where more objects in some rooms or other actions^^

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Nice short text adventure. Being able to use uparrow to get last command would help a bit.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Nice concept, makes navigation much quicker.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Awesome idea!
First however I was a bit confused by the web page...

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:37am

I was a bit more interested by it than normally because the code was visible as we play and it looked very short and simple. Hopefully you can turn this (or your next project) into something with interesting content and graphics.

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:40am

Interesting!
Here a few suggestions:
- Draw an ascii map as you explore the world
- Support all kind of case in the input field (south == sOuth == South etc.)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

This game makes really good use of the players imagination. Really cool game!

Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Interesting idea, and well coded, but I prefer more descriptions and mood in text adventures. The one-word system felt like an obstacle to imagining the world (though it was a very interesting interpretation of the theme).

Still, a decent game, good set-up, and I felt happy when I won.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]