December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ocean and Bodies

by Johnman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ocean and Bodies is a game about a bird who wants fish. Life, commitment, hardship and other deep stuff. In other words, it has no plot because I decided to focus on mechanics early on.

Instructions (also inside)
Use Z (or Y) to flap your wings. Go high if you want to go deep!
Press and release X to dive, hold X while diving to brake and change direction.
Use the arrow keys for that.

Thank you for playing!

---

Well, I ended up changing a lot of things over the course of 24 hours. I basically chickened out on what I said in my "I'm in" post. I have had a hard time finishing stuff in past LD and I decided finishing this one was my top priority, so I adapted the technical details of the game as I needed to.

Now I must return to work on other stuff.

But I finally managed to submit an entry! And as a reward I get to play hundreds of awesome games!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#202Graphics3.58
#210Mood3.24
#218Audio3.06
#515Fun2.84
#548Innovation2.84
#676Overall2.79
#895Theme2.06
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

The visuals are great, monochrome graphics will always appeal to me. Nice, basic proof of concept game.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Nice graphics, nice ambiance. It is a little bit of a stretch for the current theme. I dunno. :-|

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29am

Would have liked a better view of the ocean so i could plan my dives a bit better but it's a nice concept and love the animation on the bird!

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

I really like the mood. Congrats on finally submitting an entry :)

junt74 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

I like this mood :) great game!

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32am

took me a second to get the hang of flying (me read instructions?!). really loved what happens when you go super super high. yess! well done on good cross-platform support!

Johnman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42am

Thanks for your comments!

It took me a while to realize that the screen format was not appropriate for this concept (bad visibility), but by then it was too late to change it.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I really liked this, it felt like a kind of "What's happening above the world of Ecco the Dolphin?" :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:39am

Nice little game, but it took me a little while to figure out the controls.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Very pretty, with a lovely concept. Good job!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Why is there a Nyan cat in space? :D

Johnman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I saw sort of a "put your cat into the game" challenge, but my cat died a while ago and well... Nyan cat!

angelman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:19pm

well done johnman, you are the best making games haha
and your game is really the best ovbiously.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Nice game. Like the artwork very much. Cool idea... played it for a few tries :D Cool Typo ;)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Really liked the graphics. Gameplay felt a bit weird thou

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]