December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Run 'n Gun

by Ace - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, my little entry for this Ludum Dare.

You only get one inventory slot, and the enemies are neverending.
Scavenge weapons, preferrably before the enemies empty them at you, and maybe you'll survive for a while.

There are controls and things in the menu, though I guess they're worth repeating;
WASD for movement, Q throws your current weapon, E picks up a nearby one, R reloads, and left click fires. Shift lets you sprint.

Sadly no sound or music this time, ran out of time for it.
Enjoy regardless.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#716Fun2.53
#723Theme2.47
#726Graphics2.47
#815Overall2.59
#936Innovation2.06
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34am

It's cool. The controls are a little confusing, though.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17am

I was unable to compile the game on linux: http://pastebin.com/AqFNddRW

Also, the game crashed when I went into game mode with wine. Sorry, I really wanted to try this!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:49am

It was ok. Bit hard though, since it's pretty much a projectile spam within the first 5 seconds.

Ace says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:35am

josefnpat: You need to init the git submodule first, thought I put that in the compile instructions but apparently not.
And sadly there's an issue somewhere in Kunlaboro that breaks it in 64-bit, otherwise I'd have 64-bit linux builds for you.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:04pm

I liekd the premise, but the projectiles all leave large trails making it very hard to dodge anything

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Some interesting stuff here, but superdifficult! I wished that Q would swap with a weapon on the ground. Many times I threw away my weapon to pick up a new one, and I picked back up the old empty one. Also I was a bit unclear on whether the fruit was good or bad. I started the game with bananas one time, but clicking didn't seem to do anything. Stayed away from it and went for the more traditional firearms.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:58am

Lol bananas :D

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Love the text in the game. The gameplay was kind of dull and it seems very difficult to actually kill something. Surviving pretty much forever however can be done simply by running in one direction.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice little game. Well played :)

Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

finally figured it out. I liked the free roam system. You could pick up a cup and fly across the screen, even though the camera didn't follow you all too well. The guns went out of ammo so fast that i never was able to kill anyone. With the objective to live as long as you can, i kind of can do that by running forever in one direction. nobody can stop you so you could say i beat the game forever. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]