December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Visitor

by Jezzamon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A tragic accident leaves you stranded on an alien planet with only one of your limbs! Can you make your way back home?


Controls:
Arrow Keys to move
Space to fire?

If you get a solid yellow screen, just resize the window (I don't know why this happens, seems to be a mac only problem)


(If you're confused on what to do, once you find the mayor you should go back and speak to the healing person)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#50Humor3.74
#67Mood3.67
#79Audio3.52
#143Overall3.54
#162Fun3.42
#236Graphics3.48
#640Theme2.61
#730Innovation2.53

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08am

Interesting game, I like the story. picks up quickly with enemies

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38am

Amazing, although its just a platformer, it is very humorous. Loved the graphics

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Really enjoyed it, holistic thing.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Nice. Pretty long too... Good job!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42pm

This is the best fucking song I've ever heard. No lie.
Infinite stars.

Loved the story and the characters and muffin gun and... ugh the mayor! ... lol I only got one.

Great job making something so simple yet so captivating.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Very nice, love the graphics! Fun too, and awesome music by the way

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Not going to lie, at first i wasnt looking forward to it but once i was healed and the music changed it was really cool. I love the characters

derdragon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Muffin gun. Damn, now I'm even more hungry...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:21pm

I won! Jumping one block high jumps was a little finicky, however really neat game. I liked the muffin gun and nonsensical plot.

pLaw says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Lovely game. I love the muffin-gun :D

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Just got a solid yellow screen. Using Chrome browser on Mac.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I found the game a nice change of pace from other entries, but I wasn't engaged enough to stay with it long.

I liked that it was more story focused and presented me with a somewhat intriguing area to explore immediately. As soon as I went into the cave though to find that the enemies were one hit send you back to a checkpoint machines I wasn't as thrilled playing it anymore.

Another thing too, I found the platforming a tad floaty for precise movement. It's kind of minor, but since the area's designs are crafted to only allow one way up/down it led to some frustration needing to repeat the same jumps again.

It's weird though because even though it may seem I didn't really enjoy my time with the game... I kind of sort of did? I think it was mostly the dialogue and some witty lines that left a certain charm for me.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Great game, it's got all the great qualities of a much larger game. Can completely imagine all the alien's future adventures already :) Bravo.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06am

I got the penny, was that the end? Also if you die and go back to the gun, you get stuck as the enemies are all asleep but if you touch them you die.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:23am

I really enjoyed this one. Very funny. Though there is a glitch where if a scene reloads, any monsters you fed previously will remain sleeping, but can still cause you to go back to the checkpoint. Other than that, good job :)

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:56am

Great music and good graphics, pretty cool.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:08am

Oops, I forgot to upload the source. I'll do that ASAP

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:21am

Yeah, two glitches I'm aware of are:
1. Sleeping enemies become enemies when you revisit places
2. Your health doesn't reset when you respawn (you would normally have 1 extra chance)

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48am

Really nice work. Possibly the most 'complete' entry I've played so far. Have some stars good sir!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:49am

I like the graphics. It would be nice if you could jump through platforms, I kept hitting my head against platforms borders.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Nice game (although I still couldn't get my hand on that missing limb)! Solid entry with a story and everything - good job!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Good fun platformer. :)

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:36am

Superb game, really great job on all fronts (music, art, dialogue, everything!)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:34am

This game is so charming!
the color changing effect adds the last perfect touch to it's already awesome mood.
Good work!

kyyrma says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Really fantastic entry. Everything feels solid and polished, and like others have said that music track is great.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Well done! I adore the implementation of the muffin gun.

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Nice

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:12pm

You had me at muffin gun :) Some of the triggers will fire over and over, like if you talk to the Shaman after talking to the mayor, he'll warp in a second time...

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Love love love! This is so full of charm, the way the character inches his/her way along with that poor abused limb… The dialogue was fantastic and very witty. The colour palette changes really broke proceedings up nicely. Controls tuned expertly well, a very accomplished game

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:06am

Muffin-powers activate! I liked how this is a violence-free shoot-em-up. Also the colour scheme is really great.

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Loved it, I wanted the story to go on... :)

murilo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Hilarious!! And I won! hehe good game, man!

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:04am

It's a pretty cute game lol!

GFM says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:12am

Great game! Found it more moody than funny... anyway, I really like the dialogs! :)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

Nice game! I feel like I duplicated the Mayor, but that is OK lol
Also, you need to be at an exact spot to win the game

rubna says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I loved it! Cute little game :3

mcapraro says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:53am

just great! love the graphics, love the feel. congrats on the awesome job!

havana24 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:41am

Ahah cool dialogs and fun game overall! I've finished it so it's a good sign! Congrats! :)

mmickyman says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I won (and I'm awful at platformer) and was pleased by playing your game. I feel a kind of Game Box Color art vibe too.

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Great game!
One thing that would have been great would have been direct movement control in midair. With that I mean, that the character would keep on moving only, while a direction is kept pressed. But thats no big deal ;)
The graphics style is quite nice! I really liked the "lighting" effect of the background, when in a cave :)
The story is nice and the music fits really well.
Great work! :)

ehtd says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:29am

Great game!

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:31am

Very charming! I couldn't help but smile.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice little platformer with cool graphics and sound!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Shorter than I expected but still a fun game. Really liked the graphics and audio and I absolutely loved the humour.

somepx says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Wow, so clean and retro - a good pick!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:50pm

A muffin gun - awesome! The game is very solid and has its own charme, appealing visuals, a nice music loop. Good job!

xhunterko says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:19am

Just a little too short to be honest. Music got annoying after a while though. Not bad!

rxi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Really liked the art style, the graphics felt minimal but seemed to have a lot character to them and were overall appealing. The audio was excellent, the quirky and optimistic music felt like something which would not sound out of place humming out of an old CRT television's speaker as bright eyed children sat excitedly in front, clasping firmly the Sega Master System controller.

The dialogue felt fun which was echoed in the game overall. I quite enjoyed the little story and the characters all had a bit of personality to them. I especially liked the fact that the game had a distinct beginning and ending, leading it to feel like a complete little package.

A really excellent effort for 48 hours!

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:12pm

I love it but some of the jumps and back-tracking are just a little teeny bit brutal.

The control seems really fluid and I <3 the muffin gun!

Connors says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

MOTHAFUCKIN' MUFFIN GUN.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]