December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Magpie

by Vadinci - Jam Entry

Magpie is a dungeon crawling game, where you can only hold and use one item at a time!

Find your way through the caves, defeat the boss and hoard as many items as you can find!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1729Coolness10%

Comments

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:41am

The game didn't load for me, sorry...I'm using Chrome on a Mac, if that is a factor.

Vadinci says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

Ouch... I tried it in Chrome as well, didn't load at first but I changed some things in the embed tag and now it does! give it another shot if you'd like :)

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

Really enjoyed this, lots of fun, great exploration and feel, bringing along the items you like as you go!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56am

wow this was pretty fun! i played this way longer than i thought i would xD. i stopped because there didnt seems to be a goal. but good job!

incobalt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15am

I had to click the box to get it to load, but otherwise this was a fun game. The swords and such seem rather like dangerous weapons to use, really, and I didn't find anything else.

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

Looks great, well done, also a nice way to implement the theme. would play for a longer time, but too tired.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Addictive! Underground birds...

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Nice game. Sometimes it felt like I couldn't get to stuff though I should be able. E.g. at the bottom of the area. Played it for quite a while but got stuck on if there was something in particular I was supposed to do.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:01pm

There's something slightly annoying about picking the items, but I can't quite put it. It's either the choice of keys or perhaps the collision detection with the items should be increased.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Note, if it looks like the game doesn't load for you, you just have to wait cause there's no pre-loader and the game is 14mb.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]