December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Bullet Left

by Ovno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're in a city full of zombies with only one bullet, best save it for yourself.

Try and get to the exit in the bottom right.

WSAD/Arrows
Shift to Run
Running Makes Noise

No sound didn't have time.

Made using SDL2 & C++

Windows only I'm afraid

To build the source you'll need vc2008, libsdl and boost, plus you'll have to redo the include & lib paths.

Hope you like it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#591Fun2.73
#696Graphics2.53
#766Overall2.67
#766Theme2.40
#975Innovation1.87
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

"One bullet, best save it for yourself" ...that's scary! :p
I couldn't do proper music/audio as well, unfortunately!

Des_Nerger says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

I've modified sources a little bit so they can work in Linux: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/cjilw0026gv3e3m/OneBulletLeftSrc1.zip Here's x86_64 build for Ubuntu 12.04: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/5pul0a3rkylvat1/OneBulletLeftUbuntu1204.zip

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

I feel the hit boxes a little too big, it was to easy to be hit by a zombie.

Ovno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09am

@AlanZucconi: Cheers, I was hoping to get a bloodsplat in too from your shooting yourself once caught, but I didn't have time to do the graphics though, pity cus the animated sprite code is in and working.

@Des_Nerger: Cheers that's great!

@chiguireitor: Yeah I know what you mean, I'd tried to sort this but had to give up on it in the end...

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:20am

Nice game :D, I really like how the theme is managed :D.

Skulls says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:20am

A difficult game to be sure but once I got the hang of it I was able to beat it and that was immensely satisfying so thanks for making this.

Ovno says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Cool, cheers for the feedback, glad you liked it.

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Not bad. Took me about 5 attempts to beat it.

ACE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:09pm

hit boxes are off so made the game to hard

Ovno says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:57pm

They're not off they're just the size of the png instead of the graphic it contains, its only a few pixels anyway...

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Not bad! Strangely, the game reminded me of Dark Souls and SHMUP games at the same time.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:13am

Nice graphics, fun game too

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:43am

Woohoo! I made it out! It's surprisingly fun for how simple it is. Good job!

Ovno says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:01am

Cheers :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]