December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Weird Love Game

by Dmitrix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So... I was struggling for ideas at the beginning of the compo.

"You only get one lover.... lols"

That was my attempt to be all indie or whatever. A unique idea with deep meaning?

I bounced the idea off a friend and he came up with: "Hmm ok how about there's a love meter that's basically like a timer and the missions are like little tasks you are carrying out to keep her in love with you... If the meter runs out she leaves you..."

Okay, I tried that... but that's WEIRD!!!! Right??? Too weird, I'm not ready for that. So anyways... My game took a different direction and now you're a guy who's running away from a girl that's in love with you or at least she'll make you fall in love with her. Then it's game over. :P

I'm just glad I got an entry though and I didn't give up half way through like I almost did.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Humor3.32
#537Theme2.80
#623Graphics2.69
#829Innovation2.33
#892Mood2.04
#906Fun2.15
#941Overall2.33
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

Haha! I like the tears! Should probably have a restart button :) Looks like marriage is inevitable :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06am

Hehe I knew someone would have made a game about "one" love! :p

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:09am

This game controls really well, and could have been really cool if there was some terrain that was difficult to navigate, while the girl was perfect at it.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Nice graphics! level's a bit short though

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53am

I really dig the art style although I'd loved to see some animations.
It is very short and you seemingly can't "win". A longer level, faster girl, maybe some obstacles, a "win screen" and some music and it could be a really fun game!

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23am

Haha, I like how we took the theme in completely opposite directions. The game over screen is hilarious.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37am

Really funny ending. I'd love to see a not-so-happy "You win" screen if you manage to outrun her ;-)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:05am

This game is weird indeed. Like the idea of it. But I really miss some animations, sounds, and a restart button. And at some point that npc that follows me got stuck in a block, and I reached the end of the level I think? Not sure whether there should have happend something?

LeonLeon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:19am

Loved the game over screen. Animations would have been good

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:48pm

This truly is weird.
Weird good.

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Hehe, I can see this one causing a few arguments :)

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:08am

This game is really funny. :) I love the particle effects.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:39am

Loved the fact that it was a guy being chased by the girl. also the bit at the end where there is no escape. Loved it. The Tears were a great touch as well.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:17am

Funny game! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/CxUIxKQApqc

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice idea, but the other one sounds good too. I think there are some things missing. There seems to be no way to win it and there is no audio. And maybe multiple levels.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Haha, cute little game. The ending was nice, and it was fun to try my best to run away. Is there any way to avoid that ending? I almost felt like it was inevitable. :P I wonder if that's the life lesson in this game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]