August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Traveler

by ajwgeek - Jam Entry

In "Time Traveler", certain tasks must be completed in ten seconds. During the game, you go back in time to ten seconds before the end of the world and save the day.

Since this was a jam entry, and because art isn't our strong point, some of the art we used came from http://www.opengameart.org/. The art at OpenGameArt is fully open source!

Time lapse: http://youtu.be/wdF6GCPEZzo

Team members:
- Kovu
- Chef109
- AJWGeek

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

A little short and just a little bit to easy. But the gfx is retro cool. the gameplay is fully functional... but there was only one enemy :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26am

Love the minigame-mechanic, it's much better than "just a button"

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28am

oops, that comment was for another game :P

Love the character! The pixels being different sizes though doesn't work

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

There was nothing in those chests!! D: Lol, I did like the game and the fact that we used a Tardis made me smile :) I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

The requested URL /ludum_dare/ld27/jar/jd27.jar was not found on this server.

ajwgeek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Urfoex: Sorry for that, the ole' server was down for maintenance this morning.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

Bad news again:
java.io.IOException: mark/reset not supported
at java.io.InputStream.reset(InputStream.java:347)
at java.io.FilterInputStream.reset(FilterInputStream.java:226)
at com.sun.media.sound.SoftMidiAudioFileReader.getAudioInputStream(SoftMidiAudioFileReader.java:135)
at javax.sound.sampled.AudioSystem.getAudioInputStream(AudioSystem.java:1111)
at com.ironlionchefs.ludumdare.utils.SoundHelper$3.run(SoundHelper.java:67)
java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.lang.String.getBytes(String.java:956)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.nSetTitle(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.setTitle(LinuxDisplay.java:760)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.setTitle(Display.java:541)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.createWindow(Display.java:312)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:848)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:757)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:739)
at com.ironlionchefs.ludumdare.src.Main.createNonAppDisplay(Main.java:147)
at com.ironlionchefs.ludumdare.src.Main.access$2(Main.java:142)
at com.ironlionchefs.ludumdare.src.Main$1.run(Main.java:64)


java version "1.7.0_21"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 2.3.9) (7u21-2.3.9-5)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 23.7-b01, mixed mode)

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I loved the art! Too bad you didn't made it. The game itself was kinda goalless. I only walked forward opening chests until it ended.

manuq says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:44am

No luck running this one:

[manuq@localhost LD27]$ java -jar ../ld27.jar
java.io.IOException: mark/reset not supported
at java.io.InputStream.reset(InputStream.java:347)
at java.io.FilterInputStream.reset(FilterInputStream.java:226)
at com.sun.media.sound.SoftMidiAudioFileReader.getAudioInputStream(SoftMidiAudioFileReader.java:135)
at javax.sound.sampled.AudioSystem.getAudioInputStream(AudioSystem.java:1111)
at com.ironlionchefs.ludumdare.utils.SoundHelper$3.run(SoundHelper.java:67)
Exception in thread "Thread-0" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1878)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:849)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1087)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at com.ironlionchefs.ludumdare.src.Main.createNonAppDisplay(Main.java:144)
at com.ironlionchefs.ludumdare.src.Main.access$2(Main.java:142)
at com.ironlionchefs.ludumdare.src.Main$1.run(Main.java:64)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]