August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Gate

by wolfadex - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How far can you get, only starting with 10 seconds?

Controls:
View Ships - A/D or Left/Right Arrow
Choose Ship - Enter or Space Bar
Move Ship - WASD or Arrow Keys
Pause - Web Player: P, Standalone: Escape
Camera - C
Invert up/down controls in the pause menu.

http://wolfgangschuster.blogspot.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Graphics3.11
#647Fun2.81
#660Overall2.96
#828Theme2.85
#838Audio1.88
#927Humor1.53
#953Mood2.15
#968Innovation2.37
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:36am

111 and something meters. All i can say is that there should be and option to invert w - s as this was a real problem for me.

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:07am

424.14 meters. it should be a bit quicker to get into the complete asteroid field. other than that, for the time given this for me is a 10/10.
Good work!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Terrific-looking ships, and competent gameplay.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57am

difficulty curve might need some work, but really fun stuff

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

Only 80 for me xD I'm not very good but it's a pretty fun, solid game :)
The ship models were nice.
One-shot-kill felt a bit unforgiving though, lives would have helped there I think.
But overall - nice one! :)

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59am

Atmosphere is lacking due to lack of music and no time-up sound. The concept itself could have been a little more interesting, too, I think. Sometimes the red circles would be directly on top of a green or blue circle, which was frustrating. Definitely playable, but doesn't hold my interest for very long.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

Fun game! Purple ship FTW.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

This game was ok, if not a bit confusing. I had the most trouble with that terrible camera angle. The first 2 are only there so you can know exactly where your ship isn't. The 3rd is the only good one. Also, the red ring took me too many tries to figure out what it meant - just having a -5 sec written over it or something so I knew it was bad. I thought I was dying because I flew into it wrong! Also your sound was too harsh. With SFXR, you want the output volume to be really low, otherwise it is extremely loud and grating.

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

The ships look great. For me the astroid field thickens at exactly the right pace. It gets insane right as you realize it's increasing.

Draktharr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

I managed to get 150 meters, and of course I took the really cool yellow ship :D

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

Great game! Very solid gameplay, fits the theme perfectly, and looks pretty good. That being said, some more audio would have been nice, and sometimes the depth of the rings was hard to distinguish.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Nice one! Love the different ships, it's a cool selection

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

A nice mix of different ships. Solid entry, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]