August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Star Rover

by FacticiusVir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Star Rover!

In this game, you control a crew of robots piloting a ship through space, boldly going where most people have the sense not to. However, communication with the ship is limited, so you can only send instructions in short bursts - about ten seconds worth at a time.

There's a tutorial to introduce you to the controls, in which you'll help a single robot manage a simple engineering problem. Select the robot to see its program listing, and the instructions you can add. Click instructions on the right to add them sequentially to the listing at the bottom, and right-click items in the listing to remove them.

Press the Begin Turn button at the top to send the program and see what happens!

Once you've got the hang of the tutorial, try a generated game - a new ship, crew and mission is created for you to try and survive each time. Remember that, when you have multiple robots to control, you can give them all their own list of instructions, and they'll perform them simultaneously.

== IF THE GAME CRASHES ON STARTUP ==

Sadly, .NET apps don't have a graceful failure if the framework isn't installed, so if you're getting a crash, it's almost certainly this. I'll see about writing a native wrapper, but all that'll give you is a graceful failure ;-)

This game is written in C#/XNA, so it requires .NET 4.5 (http://bit.ly/ZYrRgq) & XNA 4.0 Refresh (http://bit.ly/11PKzer). I'll port it to Monogame in the next day or two so folks on Mac & Linux can play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#209Audio3.19
#231Innovation3.46
#406Theme3.32
#418Overall3.19
#508Humor2.29
#544Mood2.74
#551Graphics2.89
#666Fun2.79

Comments

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

crashes when I try to run it.

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

Very good idea and well put out there

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

Sorry, I could not run your entry, so I won't rate it just yet. Once it mentioned a bunch of files that were dumped into some temp directories, but after editing them I couldn't make much sense of them. Not sure if this helps at all, but the paths look something like:

\AppData\Local\Temp\WERC259.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\AppData\Local\Temp\WERD98C.tmp.appcompat.txt
\AppData\Local\Temp\WERD9CB.tmp.mdmp

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

Infernal: Apologies for asking the obvious, but have you got .NET 4.5 & XNA 4.0 installed?

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

crashed and couldn't play it! Sorry!

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

I enjoyed this. It's a nice little turn-based game. I liked the robot voices (they sort of reminded me of Starcraft). I did find that the generated games sometimes screwed you over, like getting a 5-second disaster halfway through a turn. Otherwise, good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Very cool idea. It's like the classic "turtle" program but with a goal! I also really like the graphics and sound. Those voice-overs are excellent.

I couldn't win though. I'm not really sure what I was doing wrong :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:59am

Crashed as soon as I opened it also. I do have XNA 4.0 and .net 4.5 installed. Running on Win 7 64-bit.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13am

This one has some soul and mood. Good job!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13am

I really like this game. I'd like to play this game with more robots, more consoles and a more complicated ship system - say, consoles that have to be used in a certain order or during a certain time step. I had a lot of fun playing this!

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15am

it looks like a good start to something bigger, but it got old quickly. nice mood overall.

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

@RustyBrromHandle: Curses - will have to see if I can replicate it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16am

Simply graphics, but have some nice mood, well done!

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Great idea, please make this entry into something more.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

It's well executed, but I didn't find it too challenging.
It's felt mostly luck dependent.

JD557 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I liked the concept, although it seems to have some problems on my resolution (1366x768).

Also, is there any way to delete a command before starting the turn?

FacticiusVir says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:30pm

You can right-click items in a program to delete them.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]