August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TRUSTY SWORD

by noffle - Jam Entry

...------~~~~~~~ooooo.. TRUSTY SWORD vs ROCKET LAUNCHER ..oooooo~~~~~~~------...


MORE USEFUL INFORMATION:
Sorry: the controls are all hard-coded. Also, you will need two (not necessarily willing) humans to play.

Player 1 uses KEYBOARD + MOUSE:
Movement: WASD
Aim: Mouse
Fire/Slash: Left Mouse Btn
Parry: Right Mouse Btn

Player 2 uses a GAMEPAD:
Movement + Aim: Right Stick
Fire/Slash: Right Trigger
Parry: Left Trigger


WINDOWS: Should run just fine as-is.
LINUX: You'll need to install Allegro 5. (liballegro-5.0 on Ubuntu 13.04)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44am

Didn't find which file to launch.
Seems to be missing a file/file extention.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

The game seems to require Allegro 5.0.

noffle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Gaspard_: thanks for catching that! My Linux/Windows binaries had gotten jumbled. It should be fixed now.

Moosefly: were you running on Linux? If you're on Ubuntu 13.04, it's a quick 'sudo apt-get install allegro5'.

Vnator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I'm having problems playing it- slashing doesn't do anything and rockets aren't getting launched from my rocket launcher. If it means anything, I'm using Windows 7. Any ideas as to what I can do?

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Working well on my side. Good little game to play with a friend :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:57am

Cool physics and idea.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:18am

Yay works now!
Like the huge explosion of the rocket launcher!

noffle says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:05am

Vnator: both weapons need to have the fire key held down for a moment before firing. Is there any chance that's all the problem is?

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Good style.
Could be a bit faster for me ^^

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Fun writing and fun context!

Cosr says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:07am

Hmm...if only I had another person on hand to play this with. Seems like it might be worth some fun.

Gamepad doesn't seem to play properly for me. Player 2 always seems to look/aim to the right when not actively moving (when they'll aim in the direction they're moving). Moving with the left stick, aiming with the right would seem ideal to me, then remaining facing the last direction aimed in when not actually pushing a direction on the right stick (which is not the current behaviour).

I like the dashing charge the sword gives. I'd be curious to see how they balance up in actual play, or whether maybe the movement speed needs to be upped to better enable missile dodging (or maybe if balancing needs happen, the map could be reworked to offer more close quarters opportunities). Then again, maybe charge speed is enough. Asymmetry is awesome, but needs more playtesting than I can do for you by myself, without a player 2. I do feel like both weapons should offer a fair chance, impending switch aside. Oh shit, wait, the sword can also block rockets.

Not sure I'm a fan of the hold and release to fire the rocket.

Aw, the blood spatter fades away. :(

Antidote says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Now that I read the comments I realize that the firing is working, the movement is still bugged as hell though.

noffle says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 3:28am

Antidote: a common misunderstanding I've noticed is that if your character is standing in open space (i.e. where there are no tiles), then they will drift freely until they reach solid ground again. Some people have been interpreting this as "the controls don't work", which is actually pretty reasonable if you don't know that you aren't supposed to be able to move freely on those areas of the map.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]