August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mutatris

by CiderPunk - Jam Entry

Mutatris - it's Tetris(like)... but a bit different!
I started this Sunday morning 'cos my Saturday project wasn't going anywhere and I thought it'd be interesting to create a Tetris clone.

Every 10 seconds the mutation rate increases unless you take out a line, taking out a line reduces the mutation and resets the timer, but this reprieve is always short lived!

The web version displays a blank dialogue at the end of the game, this is supposed to show 'Game over' and your score, it does on the Java releases so I'm not sure what GWT is doing there! just press space or return to start again.

I used LibGDX, eclipse, Gimp2, SFXR, Launch4j.

source available here:
https://bitbucket.org/CiderPunk/mutatris
and
https://bitbucket.org/CiderPunk/gamebase

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#203Theme(Jam)3.31
#213Fun(Jam)3.10
#267Innovation(Jam)3.03
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#380Humor(Jam)2.05
#414Mood(Jam)2.55
#442Graphics(Jam)2.72
#446Audio(Jam)2.19

Comments

Canobie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I like how it's a fun game, with a twist. Therefore, although not original, it's fun.

Hitonagashi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Loved it. Great theme....it's a difficult game though. At first, I thought mutations would be no problem, but once you've got one or two of them, it's really hard to fill the rows, meaning spiralling death awaits you. It would be nice to have a way to 'demutate' the pieces (maybe for slagging multiple rows at once?)

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Interesting idea, but still really just Teris, try thinking outside the box and go for something a bit more original next time. +1 for using LibGDX, though! :)

anmorales says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Nice game, I like it, I'm not really good at tetris and this makes it a bit harder but it's cool! nice work!

flarb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Wow, this is impossible. :) Pretty neat idea! After a few mutations, it's impossible to make any lines though! I wonder what the highest score is.

Neil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Very cool twist on Tetris! I found it very difficult, but fun :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Very good to play !

jujule says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Great concept. It is to play this kind of game that I enjoy participating in events like LudumDare. If you could find a way to "tailor" the mutations to make the game less hard, you'd have a great basis for a very successful game.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

As a tetris fan, I really like this!

The mutations do kinda make the game impossible after a while, but they're an interesting take on the classic game.

Nice job :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Fantastic clone! I have never seen tetronimos -err- manyronimos like these. Once those mutations get out of hand its tickets.

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I like it as a variant of Tetris, a good twist. The gameover sound made up for no actual message. A couple of mutations in and I was a gone.

CiderPunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

hah yeah every now and then SFXR throws up a classic, thanks guys!

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

hahahahaha it's impossible to hang in there, it really makes it fun. I just would suggest that you maintain the basic tetris pieces in order to try to recover the mess that the mutated pieces create.
Great one!

bitowl says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:21am

whoa. get's quite hard, when there are more then three mutations. Maybe there would be a way to make "easier" mutations, that fit well with the existing tetris scheme.

motty says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:17am

Really great game. Really funny and fun to play. Completely unplayable after a few iterations of mutation - of course - but that's exactly what makes it so great.

I've played a few Tetris-from-hell variants over the years but this one stands out as one of the best. A simple evil idea, nicely implemented.

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Oh maaan, even a single mutation thingie is sufficient to totally throw me off. Reminds me of the good old game boy times ^^

Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:38am

Ha, lovely idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]