August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Candy Grab!

by leedo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grab as many candy as you can !

This could have been a tower offense named "whack a tower", but candy are way more fun. It's colorfull and non-violent. At least as long as you aren't wrestling with someone for every candy :)


The plan was to have a multiplayer version kickin' in after the first round. Some lack of motivation the first day turned into a lack of time. I had to cut it out to meet the deadline.
If you like the game and want the multiplayer version, poke at me with stick, tweet at @gkrnours and email at couesl@gmail.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#922Graphics2.25
#959Theme2.65
#1128Fun1.94
#1166Overall2.00
#1193Innovation1.59
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:45pm

errrrmm.....why are you counting the time (and score) in Hex :D?

leedo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39pm

it cost me only 4 more bit :)
I use protoype.js, which add a .toPaddedString(length, base) method to number. time.toPaddedString(4) would have printed the number of milliseconds in base 10. time.toPaddesString(4, 16) print it as hexadecimal.

I thought it would be cooler :p

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50pm

There's not much to the gameplay and the time limit in combination with the random spawn times unfortunately makes the game more about luck than skill/speed, but I like the style and the random use of hex amuses me. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Hi leedo nice to see a JS game in the compo. What is 'looking for friends' about?

leedo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The plan was to add a multiplayer variant. After the first round, if websocket is loaded, the game ask the server for a room. Up to five should have been able to share a room and would have competed for candies.

js/multi.js and srv/server.js in the source are the progress I made on this part. It's still on early stage.

leedo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13pm

So the "looking for friends" is an indication that the game is looking for a room.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Not if the multiplayer variant would have worked out so well

galman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51pm

A multiplayer version would be really coo!

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59pm

im sorry that you didnt have motivation, but i didnt think multiplayer was a good idea anyway. Right now is just a very mediocre "game".

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Too bad there's no multiplayer mode!
The gameplay is rather simple but with multiple players it would have been so much better :)

Good job.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Multiplayer: Why not?
The game is really simple though...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]