August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Buzzbuster

by AhNinniah - Jam Entry

Buzzbuster - is a game about evil man, who shatters the calm of peaceful bees in order to steal their honey. But every bee lives only for 10 seconds. How much honey can you harvest?

Controls: mouse

Tools:
Language: Monkey http://monkeycoder.co.nz/
Framework: Flixel for Monkey http://flixelmonkey.com/
Sounds & Music: Guitar Pro, bfxr, Garage Band, Audacity
Graphics: Inkscape, Gimp

Code - Arthur @devolonter Bikmullin
Art - Olga @AhNinniah Bikmullina
Music & sounds - Michael Galich

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#120Graphics(Jam)3.91
#136Humor(Jam)3.00
#177Fun(Jam)3.22
#220Overall(Jam)3.27
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#328Mood(Jam)2.82
#366Innovation(Jam)2.78
#509Theme(Jam)2.56

Comments

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26am

I like the game! It's really good rendition of breakout. Need to lock that mouse somehow :(

KaaPex says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18am

I killed 46 of bees and honey collected 48)) it's terrible!

gmaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:28am

really fun!! great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32am

Hexagonal Breakout with BEES? Hell yeah

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22pm

I love me some honey :D , great fun game.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24pm

The regenerating mechanic is really nice but i feel the controls are very sluggish and my mouse was always exiting the game area. Fun game!

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:36am

Really cool spin on breakout - maybe I'm awful at it, but I would suggest spawning bees in intervals, I felt like I had to let some bees down to catch the others when they would spawn.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Cool game! Nice artwork too. :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Awesome and simple game! Fun! I like that music. )

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

It's like Super Super Breakout :)

I like how hectic it can get with bees everywhere! The ending is funny too :P See what you hunger for honey brought upon you!

Good work!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice concept. The music however felt misplaced, metal-ish doesn't go well with the presentation you have there.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice work! Interesting take of breakout.

The dead bees could have been bit different color though, like gray, as they were difficult to recognize from still living ones, causing misses.

67 bees and 91.20 honey

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Very nice take on breakout, enjoyed this!
A complaint would be the music, metal just doesn't suit this. :P

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Hehe, Im so bad at these types of games. I just cant track more than 4 bees ;) But the game looks and feels very polished. Good work!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Haha funny concept and good execute, but mouse control is very lazy working for me :) However, good job!

lightsoda says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:31pm

A decent game, somewhat sluggish on the mouse. I found the choice of music quite funny.

domrein says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:20pm

MULTIBAAAAAAALLL!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:19pm

haha amazing fun! I'm hooked.
The 10 second theme doesn't really affect gameplay, but the mechanic is awesome, so I'm giving it top marks for theme as well! The music was bee-like and awesome, on top of everything.

Alink says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Wow, really fun innovative way to make a breakout. I especially like how you integrated the bee theme in the look and gameplay. And the idea that bees stings (which means that there is a risk with to have too many "balls") is brilliant.

motty says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Great idea, fine implementation, everything nicely polished. And fun to play.

My one quibble is the decision to make the honeycombs permanently regenerating rather than allowing you to complete them and start a new level - this for me meant that a key part of the underlying breakout gameplay was lost and left me wondering exactly what I was aiming to do other than bounce bees around for as long as possible.

Nevertheless, a really really fine effort.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:59am

Breakout - with lots of bees.
Good game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]