August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sleep Consultant

by flashkick - Jam Entry

Complete all the jobs to beat the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#99Humor(Jam)3.26
#142Innovation(Jam)3.33
#392Mood(Jam)2.63
#393Overall(Jam)2.89
#402Fun(Jam)2.64
#477Theme(Jam)2.65
#513Audio(Jam)1.40
#608Graphics(Jam)1.60

Comments

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

"Absolutely brilliant" - Carlos Danger

You can put that one in as a marketing thing.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40am

Great adaptation with the theme! (I think this is the only game I've played so far that is not, in some way based around a timer.) Interesting twist on classic RPG fighting mechanics as well.

flashkick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

@Canobie: I initially wanted the marketing part to have multiple quotes chained together. If I ever make a post Ludum Dare version I'll most likely have it use many different quotes and fit those in somehow as a combo.

@carlsommer: Glad you liked the theme adaptation!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54am

Overall, this game makes me glad that I do not pay someone to bludgeon me to sleep every night...

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57am

Cool concept. Depending on luck for the skill rerolls is a bit frustrating though... Still, nice job!

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23am

Sleep consultant... I could use one of those!

I really liked this - very clever. Even though my clients are rather ungrateful for killing me if I fail, I found myself trying again and again.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Sleepy Sam swayed at me :(. Liked the idea of pummeling someone until they sleep at their request.

Paraknight says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Original idea and really fun! Since I'm a bit of a loser though I had to type "statistics.setPopularity(999999999);" in the console and one-hit kill all the clients. :P

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Since the first client causes no damage and there's no penalty for failure, stealing is a bit exploitable and then I powered up insanely and murdered everyone, haha. Never mind the balance though - it's a funny and original idea, great entry overall. :)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:45am

I also liked the theme! Very original!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05am

the whole idea of beating up people to make them sleep is lol. you also seem to have put a lot of thought to game design.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:07am

I have been killed by my client! Hilarious game :) Very nice.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:32am

Reminds me of classic BBS door games like Caveman Wars and Food Fite. I also echo the complaint about the random skill rerolls rather than a predictable upgrade path, but except for that it's quite good!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35am

Really funny background story for a turn-based fighting game. And the game itself is quite addictive. I like it! :D

haxpor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:37am

Interesting set up of theme, but weird in some ways :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

I guess now I know what it is that sleep consultants do.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I had a laugh with this one. It's weird at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was quite fun!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

good job

awppy says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:20am

Surprisingly fun game! After getting a hang of the mechanics I absolutely crushed all who opposed, though. It ended sooner than I wanted it to.

Who's up for 28 ATK, 17 Heal, and 48 uses?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]