August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Provider

by Canyon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keep you and your family alive.

Theme:
Each day is 10 seconds long.

Hope you like it.

Let me know how many days you lasted and how big your family got to be!

-James

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#171Innovation3.57
#220Mood3.24
#267Graphics3.40
#271Overall3.37
#338Audio2.93
#566Theme3.17
#660Humor2.06
#685Fun2.77

Comments

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27am

Very interesting game. I love how well it fits in with the theme, and the premise is very neat. I also dig the graphics style and audio.

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28am

A little abstract, but still good. I like the pixel art on this one and the general concept.

Soundboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

Really cool idea, I feel like the 10 second limit isn't enough to be able to weigh the decision between feeding your family and yourself, but I guess that's the point

Zeno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34am

I died like three times in a row before realizing that it's a bad idea to come at the deer from the front. I'm bad.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

Love it man! work on it more to make it more tycoonish/survivalist

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

Wow. Great game! And it's really well thought! :D
It's kinda the point, but it's really hard to make the deer go where you want... Most of the time, it went through the camp because I didn't come exactly from the side... >_<

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32am

Very cool game. I really like the aesthetics and the sound. Also, great use of the theme.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Really enjoyed this little game, quite and interesting take on the theme love the pixel art and animations too, good work! rated highly. :)

sebb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I really like the game, finding deer is hard tho :I

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Love the art style, reminds me of super brothers swords & sorcery.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

like your use of the theme.. its pretty tough tho! my poor family =(.. i cant feed them efficiently.. like the simple art style =)

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

So simple, but interesting. The art style is really neat. I found it very difficult to find the deer- very difficult over all actually ha ha
Great concept though.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice premise, the sprites look good and the sound, though simple, works really well with the game.

Nice work!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

Arrrgh... I loved this game a lot - but it was just too frustrating. There was no clue as to where the deer were, so my I didn't feel like it mattered what I did in terms of movements.. just walked randomly. And then there was no way to know how to get back.

This made for an interesting and poignant message: but also meant I rage quit after a few plays. I feel like if the difficulty "ramped up" rather than just throwing you in the deep end, it could be an amazing and addictive experience.

I gave you all 4 and 5's except for fun. I think if you "fun"-ed it up a 15% it would be perfect.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Nice art! I think time moved slightly too quickly for me to actually have any hope of feeding us all, which was pretty frustrating, but maybe that's what you meant, great little game ;)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I made it 9 days, not sure if that's good or not :) Liked the art and theme but wasn't really sure what to do other than kill and eat.

shard123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Hard to find food but I loved the art style audio and general idea!

fferro234 says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:37am

I like the pixel art style. The game needs a little more variety besides just trying to find deer though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]