August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Ten Second War

by Cake_Catastrophe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have been driven from your Kingdom by your traitorous steward Lankyre, in a coup that has become known as "The Ten Second War". You must build an army and reclaim the lands of your blood right!

Will update this with more info later, I'm currently sans internet and submitting this using via a 3G phone, USB cable and black magic.

Expect web, Linux, Mac and source soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#66Innovation3.86
#166Fun3.47
#276Overall3.36
#407Mood2.92
#480Graphics3.00
#484Humor2.37
#881Theme2.78

Comments

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Nice, innovative design for a strategy game. I've never seen one quite like it.

voltorben says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:17pm

can't open the mac version :( It says it's corrupted and can't be opened. Running mac OS 10.8.2

JayProg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18pm

I like the design. The fighting, upgrading, and exploration has a good flow to it.

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

This is actually a pretty good game. The graphics could do with some work, but the actual gameplay and idea behind is great.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Whoa! Finally some innovation. Good job sir! The only thing missing is music or at least some sounds. Well done!

SkyTheCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Web version asks me to install Unity Web player even though it's already installed. I clicked the link and re-installed it and it still asks me to install. I tried the Mac version and, as voltorben says, I get an error saying it's corrupted. Screenshot: http://cl.ly/image/1V3h1J2D2k2S

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Very neat strategy game.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Greate strategy game, it could evolve to something amazing.
btw, I was able to run the web version removing the 's' from 'https' in the link.

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I really enjoyed that actually. It was smooth and fun to play.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Wow, thanks for the positive feedback guys!

I don't currently have a reliable internet connect, or access to a mac, so the Web and Mac versions were completely untested (just set the build mode in Unity and hoped for the best).

I've fixed the issue with the link to the Web version, so it should work for everyone now. I've noticed some graphical bugs but it seems to play fine.

Sounds like the mac version didn't fare so well. I'll see if I can find one to test it out on. In the mean time I've removed the mac link.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very addicting game :D highly enjoyable :) great work, well done!

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28pm

It would've been really handy if, say, surviving soldiers gained experience and became stronger.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Heyyyy this was pretty neat. Way more fun to me than Total War but I have little patience for that these days. Good work.

Tater_hater says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30pm

didnt load for me, but it looks really fun

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Its a fun game but could use some sound effects or background music.

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:28am

Oh yes, strategy! Took me a while to grasp the concept of power, and I'm still not sure what all the spells actually "do". Still, nothing beats the feeling of winning a battle with only a few units left (soooo close!)^^

Arcana says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:35am

That was actually pretty cool. I liked the fact that the game really emphasized development of your army over the combat. It might have been nice to be able to move more easily but that's a small improvement.

I used the magic spells but I couldn't really figure out what they do.

This has probably been one of my favourite LD games so far.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:00am

Nice, if a little too easy after I realised stuff respawned. Quite fun and even a bit addictive! Would love to see this with a bit of polish and maybe some sounds.

cwkx says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:40pm

This was awesome, I loved so many things about it; the movement, the accumulation of strength/army size - really impressive work for 48 hours!

Makio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:41pm

At the start I didn't understand and retry retry and retry... but finally the story will remember my battle as the 10 seconds war , very nice entry :D

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:08pm

I thought it was fun and payed for a while but I did find it really easy after a few rounds and couldn't be beaten

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Great way to implement the theme with gameplay and the story. The end was funny. I had a lot of fun playing

jwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:11am

Pretty nice strategy game! I noticed that you could grind some parts of the map, given how things respawned. Not sure if that was intended, but it worked out pretty well.

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Really awesome! Loved building an army and fighting!

sittaman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Great idea. Found the gameplay a bit confuse and I couldn't realize how the recoveries and upgrades work. But its indeed a great take. Congratulations!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]