August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds of Gas

by tordre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This entry is titled "10 Seconds of Gas". In this game you play as a spaceship, a purple spaceship. Controls are simple use the arrow keys on your keyboard to navigate around asteroids, but watch out you only have 10 seconds of gas left, find fuel cans to get more gas. Survive longer to collect a high score. Watch out the longer you survive the harder it gets.

Game produced in libGDX and eclipse, sprites hand crafted, sound effects generated with bsfx, music created in iNudge by myself, font converted with BMFont from http://www.fontspace.com/lcd-solid/lcd-solid. Android version is possible, but the controls would suck so no.

JAR file should work cross-platform, although only tested in OSX Lion and Windows 8. On Windows double click works to load the JAR. On OSX, run java -jar <filename>.

Have Fun... OR ELSE!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10pm

i like the wee jingle and the scrolling stars.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30pm

The asteroids are a bit hard to see since they are blended by the stars and the black background.
Took me awhile to see how this game fits the theme: start with 10 seconds, get 10 seconds per item collected.

Tigro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Good job on the background - simple trick of making some stars go faster than the others created a really nice, parallax-ish effect. Also, loved the simplicity of "you suck" :)

immanuela says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Agreed on the stars - at first I just thought it was my eyes :D

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:36pm

The "10 seconds of gas" thing is basically useless given how easy it is to find more gas, the real problem is in dodging asteroids.
Also the game lacks features, but the existing features are well done.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Like how all your scores are by "n00B"!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Simple but fun :) It highlights how a simple sound effect can be used for good feedback (did I pick up that fuel?) Also the mild insults are pretty funny

Jordo76 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:40pm

The fuel cans were WAY too easy to get unfortunately, but overall fun little game :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:15am

Very simple but fun. There really is way too many fuel cans :P I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzQ8TXQohmI

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]