August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DEAD OF THE NIGHT

by tiooonnn - Jam Entry

A horror text-RPG/adventure (made w/ Twine) inspired by my nighterrors....

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#559Fun(Jam)2.12
#574Innovation(Jam)2.11
#594Graphics(Jam)1.82
#598Overall(Jam)2.18
#600Theme(Jam)1.56
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Hmmm. Interesting. I played through it 3-4 times and showed a few of my friends. Very intriguing.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52pm

to bad it ended after the first day, i wanted to see what happened next. good use of music, you don't see that often in twine games. very ominous.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:17am

Not sure I understand this game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:34pm

If twine, why no web?

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Making a text-based horror game is a great idea! There's nothing better than one's own imagination to create the right mood. Really too bad that the game ends after the first day, I would have loved to play it further.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:57pm

"Your life as a human ends here." Hahah nice game :P

flarb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:10am

Brilliant!

drkrunk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:07am

That was interesting. Like everyone else said, I would have loved it to go on after one day, but it was very enjoyable.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Fun, but is it just me or is it reaaaaally short? That's too bad, because I usually enjoy good text-based games... Keep working on it!

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:08am

interesting game! great job! =) art is so cute

VAGABOND says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:58pm

seriously, thank you all for the comments and critique! i'm expanding the story so DAY 2 will be longer than 10 Seconds! ;)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:19pm

It's cool that you used art and audio in a Twine game. The art is crude, but manages to get a creepy feeling through.

However, there's barely a game here (only one choice to be made, and getting a successful ending tells me that this was only the prologue to a longer story), and the writing itself is a bit silly.

A tip for the future: if you want to convey a feeling of horror, make the main character helpless in the face of monsters, needing to hide or flee rather than having access to loads of weapons. Also, mentioning things like HP tends to break the fourth wall.

Tanser says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Nice idea, very interesting.

VAGABOND says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:23pm

@Christina Nordlander thank you very much for your critique. Actually there are FOUR possible choices to be made but two lead to a sucessful ending. As for the writing, the game was meant to be silly. I was inspired by Earthbound's quirkyness.

Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:30pm

@Vagabond: Ah, I expressed that badly. I meant there's only one occasion where you get to choose, not that you can only choose one thing. (I know the latter isn't true, because I replayed it to get all the endings.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]