August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BYG

by Grip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THIS IS MY FIRST LUDUM DARE ENTRY Y'ALL. Yeah, it's not much. Created this in roughly 6 hours. And I got semester finals coming up so yeah. I might take this project further later on, but for now I'm happy about it as an entry. :D

How to play:

Use the arrow keys to move, and space to jump.

-Catch the spheres according to the current background of the game.
-Background color changes every 10 seconds. :D
-Don't touch any other sphere

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#974Humor1.29
#1079Fun2.12
#1081Mood1.35
#1114Innovation2.00
#1126Theme2.16
#1179Graphics1.50
#1182Overall1.92
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05am

Congratulations on your first entry =)

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12am

Nice work for a first time entry. Hopefully you will get a chance to work on it longer next time. Good job adhering to the theme!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33am

Hey very good platform game for a first time ! It's a little bit hard but makes me keep trying and trying again. Very nice !

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Congratulations on your first entry.
One think I didn't like was the background colors, they burned my eyes.

Grip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Thanks everyone.
And sorry about that xrm0. 0:)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:18am

A good start, but next time you should work a little on the controls and collision. If it's more smooth/fluent/dynamic/whatever, the game will be a lot more fun. :)

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Your first LD48 too ..well done

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:36pm

It was alright. Controls felt really weird and non-responsive. but for 6 hours. nice job. :)

Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very simplistic, but the main mechanic is pretty original. Reminds me a bit of "Ikaruga". I had some fun playing this and figuring out tactics for not getting killed. The graphics are nothing special, but I like the main sprite. My main problem is that the controls are a bit unresponsive and floaty.

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:24pm

web versions are great! thank you ))
by the way, game is great too! matching background with falling objectsare was smart solution

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]